Man of Steel shortlist confirmed

The RFL have confirmed the identities of the three players who make up the shortlist for the 2015 Steve Prescott Man of Steel Award.

Two men from Leeds Rhinos, Adam Cuthbertson and Zak Hardaker, are on the list, alongside St Helens prop Alex Walmsley.

The award is presented to the player who is adjudged to have exerted the biggest impact on the season.

The RFL has released a statement outlining why each player has been selected.

It reads:

“Cuthbertson has had a hugely successful first season in Super League since joining Leeds at the turn of the year from Australian club Newcastle Knights.  Playing at prop and loose forward, the 30-year-old has been a key member of the Rhinos pack during a summer which has seen them win the Ladbrokes Challenge Cup and go within one win of lifting the League Leaders’ Shield.

England full-back Hardaker, 24, has enjoyed his most impressive season with Leeds, where he has been one of the most consistent players in the competition, delivering a succession of high quality performances in both attack and defence.

“Walmsley has been the cornerstone of the St Helens pack during a year which has seen the defending champions maintain their reputation as Super League’s most dangerous team. The 25-year-old former Batley Bulldogs prop never takes a backwards step and has a workrate that inspires the players around him.”

The final destination of the award is decided by means of a poll of every Super League player.

A specially convened panel then considers the results of the poll and makes the final decision.

The panel features a former Man of Steel, a current player and one representative each from the written and broadcast media.

The 2015 Steve Prescott Man of Steel will be named at a gala dinner hosted at The Point, the Old Trafford home of Lancashire Cricket Club, on Monday October 5.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.