Love NRL: Round 13

Penrith climbed to the summit of the NRL ladder thanks to their fifth win in six games.

The Panthers returned from Queensland with a 36-14 victory over Gold Coast, after a superb performance from the likes of Jamie Soward and Tyrone Peachey.

Ivan Cleary’s side replace Canterbury in first, after the Bulldogs fell to a second successive defeat away at Manly.

The Sea Eagles revelled in the tough conditions at Brookvale Oval to join Penrith and Canterbury on 18 points at the top.

Daly Cherry-Evans was at his slick best before leaving the field with a knock, as a classy Brett Stewart brace rounded off a 32-10 win.

Parramatta kept touch with the leaders after a hard-earned 18-16 win over North Queensland, whilst Jamie Dugan scored a hatrick as Benji Marshall finally settled in at St George Illawarra.

The Dragons thrashed Cronulla 30-0, with Dugan in unstoppable form at centre, and Marshall excelling in the halves.

Another centre who enjoyed Round 13 was Dylan Walker of South Sydney, although he spent most of the game at full-back due to Greg Inglis picking up an injury.

Walker finished with two tries, as the Rabbitohs came from behind to defeat NZ Warriors 34-18.

On Sunday, Wests Tigers – who will not be losing James Tedesco to Canberra after the full-back had a change of heart – won a thriller away at Newcastle.

Akuila Uate’s hatrick wasn’t enough for the Knights, as the Tigers edged home 23-20.

Meanwhile, Sydney Roosters won away at Melbourne, and Brisbane eased to victory over the Raiders on Monday.

Round 13 results:

Manly 32-10 Canterbury (Jun 06, Brookvale Oval)

Parramatta 18-16 North Queensland (Jun 06, Pirtek Stadium)

Gold Coast 14-36 Penrith (Jun 07, Cbus Super Stadium)

St George Illawarra 30-0 Cronulla (Jun 07, WIN Stadium)

South Sydney 34-18 NZ Warriors (Jun 07, NIB Stadium)

Newcastle 20-23 Wests Tigers (Jun 08, Hunter Stadium)

Melbourne 12-32 Sydney Roosters (Jun 08, AAMI Park)

Canberra 4-28 Brisbane (Jun 09, GIO Stadium)

Round 14 fixtures:

South Sydney v Wests Tigers (Jun 13, ANZ Stadium)

Penrith v St George Illawarra (Jun 14, Sportingbet Stadium)

Sydney Roosters v Newcastle (Jun 14, Allianz Stadium)

Canterbury v Parramatta (Jun 15, ANZ Stadium)

Gold Coast v Melbourne (Jun 16, Cbus Super Stadium)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.