Lockyer ‘certain’ to be named Immortal

Gravel-voiced Australian rugby league legend Darren Lockyer is “certain” to be named as the sport’s latest ‘Immortal’, according to reports Down Under.

Columnist Phil Rothfeld, writing in the Brisbane Courier-Mail, believes that Lockyer could be accorded the honour as soon as October, when the NRL Players Association dinner takes place.

The current list of ‘Immortals’ consists of Clive Churchill, Bob Fulton, Reg Gasnier, Johnny  Raper, Arthur Beetson, Wally Lewis, Graeme Langlands and Andrew Johns.

Norm Provan and Mal Meninga may also join the list soon.

Rothfield will be on the judging panel which will include, among others, former Rugby League Week editors Ian Head, Geoff Prenter and David Middleton, as well as England and Brisbane coach Wayne Bennett, and ARL chairman John Grant.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.