Leigh prominent as Championship and League 1 awards shortlists announced

The RFL have comfirmed the shortlists for this season’s awards for the Championship and League 1.

Paul Rowley of Leigh Centurions heads up the list for Championship coach of the year, while Ryan Brierley is also on the shortlist for Championship player of the year, along with two other halfbacks, Lee Gaskell and Scott Murrell.

Halifax’s success in 2015 is also marked by the inclusion of Richard Marshall on the list for coach of the year, while Cumbria is represented by Whitehaven’s James Coyle.

John Duffy heads up the list of contenders for League 1 coach of the year, while Oldham’s Scott Naylor and York’s James Ford complete the list.

The 2015 Kingstone Press Championship and League 1 Awards shortlists in full:

Championship Player of the Year:  Ryan Brierley (Leigh Centurions), Lee Gaskell (Bradford Bulls), Scott Murrell (Halifax)

Championship Young Player of the Year: Jordan Baldwinson (Featherstone Rovers), Joel Farrell (Dewsbury Rams), Thomas Minns (Featherstone Rovers)

Championship Coach of the Year: James Coyle (Whitehaven), Richard Marshall (Halifax), Paul Rowley (Leigh Centurions)

League 1 Player of the Year: Andy Ackers (Swinton Lions), Richie Hawkyard (Swinton Lions), Lewis Palfrey (Oldham), George Tyson (Oldham)

League 1 Young Player of the Year: Matty Beharrell (NewcastleThunder), Greg Minikin (York City Knights), Ben White (Swinton Lions)

League 1 Coach of the Year: John Duffy (Swinton Lions), James Ford (York City Knights), Scott Naylor (Oldham).

The winners will be announced at the 2015 Kingstone Press Championship and League 1 annual dinner in Manchester on Monday September 14.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.