Leeds announce 2012 squad list

Super League Champions Leeds Rhinos have announced their squad numbers for the 2012 campaign, making no fewer than 13 changes from the announced list last season.

The club has made few changes to squad numbers over the last few seasons however the Champions have signalled a changing of the guard with a number of players receiving an elevated squad number along with new signings coming into the squad including Richard Moore (20) and Darrell Griffin (21).

Four of the changes are made to the top 13 positions which include a new centre pairing in Kallum Watkins (3) and Zak Hardaker (4) along with Ben Jones-Bishop who has been allocated squad number 2.

Following the departure of Danny Buderus, hooker Paul McShane has been awarded the vacant number 9 jersey, whilst Lee Smith (14), Brett Delaney (15), Chris Clarkson (18) and Weller Hauraki (19) also have squad numbers for the 2012 campaign.

Other members who have been promoted to the senior 25 man squad include Brad Singleton (23), Liam Hood (24) and Stevie Ward (25).

The Rhinos have also announced that five other members of the squad that will train with the first team including Jarad Stewart, Daniel Smith and Jamel Chisholm from the Leeds Academy set up, along with recruit Luke Briscoe and Ireland Prop Like Ambler.

Commenting on the squad list, Head Coach Brian McDermott said: “The club has always had a policy of awarding squad numbers based on performances from the previous season and all these players have earned their new numbers.

“Whilst the number does not guarantee them anything for the new season, it is recognition for the hard work and dedication they have shown. We have had a number of players leave the club this close season which has allowed us to re-order a number of positions.

“There are a number of players outside of the 25 man squad who are also looking to force their way into contention during pre-season and we have got good competition for places at present.”

Leeds Rhinos 2012 squad list:

1. Brent Webb
2. Ben Jones-Bishop *
3. Kallum Watkins *
4. Zak Hardaker *
5. Ryan Hall
6. Danny McGuire
7. Rob Burrow
8. Kylie Leuluai
9. Paul McShane *
10. Jamie Peacock
11. Jamie Jones-Buchanan
12. Carl Ablett
13. Kevin Sinfield (c)
14. Lee Smith *
15. Brett Delaney *
16. Ryan Bailey
17. Ian Kirke
18. Chris Clarkson *
19. Weller Hauraki *
20. Darrell Griffin *
21. Richard Moore *
22. Jay Pitts
23. Brad Singleton *
24. Liam Hood *
25. Stevie Ward *
26. Luke Ambler *
27. Luke Briscoe *
28. Jamel Chisholm *
29. Jared Stewart
30. Daniel Smith *

* New squad number for 2012

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.