Lee Radford names first Castleford squad and provides injury update


Lee Radford has named his first Castleford squad as head coach for their friendly with York.

Radford will travel with a 24-man squad to the LNER Community Stadium for this Sunday’s test with the Championship side.

Castleford will be the first Super League club to play at York’s new facilities, and it will also mark the beginning of Radford’s reign as head coach at the Tigers.

Six out of the eight new signings are included within the squad with just Callum McLelland and George Lawler missing out. McLelland is still working on coming back from an injury, whilst Lawler is serving a match suspension.

Sunday will also mark the debut for Junior Vasuitoga who is currently on a pre-season trial with the Tigers.

Jake Trueman returns to the squad for the first time since the 2021 Challenge Cup Final. He suffered a back injury that ruled the half-back out for the remainder of the season.

Skipper: Paul McShane named new Castleford captain

Radford provides Castleford injury update

“Sosaia Feki is the same scenario. He’s [due back in] March,” Radford said in his pre-match press conference.

“Paul McShane probably won’t feature in any of the friendlies, but will be available round one. The amount of footy he’s going to play, hopefully a World Cup as well, there’s some thought behind that. We need to keep him on the field as long as we can.

Radford continued: “Wattsy (Liam Watts) has a bit of a hamstring strain, nothing major. Probably precaution and probably won’t use him as well and hopefully he’s pushing for a World Cup spot at the end of the year as well.

“Callum McLelland is the same scenario. He’ll be end of February, beginning of March he’ll be good to go for.

“Jacques O’Neill is scheduled for March. He’s actually started running the last couple of weeks which is obviously great for him as well.

“Jordan Turner won’t feature this week. He possibly might feature next week.”

Full 24-man squad: Adam Milner, Alex Sutcliffe, Brad Martin, Bureta Faraimo, Cain Robb, Cheyse Blair, Daniel Smith, Danny Richardson, Derrell Olpherts, Gareth O’Brien, George Griffin, Jake Mamo, Jake Trueman, James Clare, Jason Qareqare, Joe Westerman, Junior Vasuitoga, Kenny Edwards, Mahe Fonua, Nathan Massey, Niall Evalds, Sam Hall, Suaia Matagi, Tyla Hepi.

READ MORE: Lee Radford excited by ‘freakishly athletic’ new signing

Follow Love Rugby League on Instagram

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.