League 1 hopefuls to learn their fate as race for Championship spot heats up

Championship ball for Monday night rugby league

The League 1 club who will take the Championship’s 14th spot for 2021 will be revealed on Thursday, December 10 (2pm).

A position in the second tier has been left vacant due to the elevation of one Championship club to Super League to replace Toronto Wolfpack, who failed to gain re-admission into the top flight.

Five clubs from League 1 have applied to enter the Championship – Rochdale, Barrow, Doncaster, Newcastle and Workington.

A five-strong panel, chaired by former RFL President Air Commodore Dean Andrew OBE, will this week complete its assessment of the final applications.

Andrew said: “We have adopted a process similar to the one for deciding which Betfred Championship club will play in Super League in 2021 and we have been very impressed by the quality and honesty of the submissions.

“I’d like to thank all five clubs for engaging so enthusiastically with this process in such a relatively short space of time.

“All five applications reflect well on the business acumen, enthusiasm, ambition and realism that exists in League 1.

“One club will be a fabulous addition to the Betfred Championship; the other four are already raising the bar on what will be a very competitive League 1 next season.”

A decision on which Championship club will compete in Super League in 2021 will be decided by December 16.

Listen to The Final Hooter podcast, featuring exclusive interviews, every week. SUBSCRIBE to Love Rugby League on Apple Podcasts.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.