Kiwis name squad for Four Nations

Twenty-three players have been named in the New Zealand train-on squad for the test against Australia next month and subsequent Four Nations campaign in England.

The group, drawn from clubs that did not make the 2016 NRL playoffs, features eight who have yet to play for the national side – Manly prop Addin Fonua-Blake, Warriors utility David Fusitu’a, Warriors centre Solomone Kata, Warriors prop Sam Lisone, Sydney forward Isaac Liu, Wests centre Tim Simona, Parramatta centre Brad Takairangi and Warriors second row Bodene Thompson.

Liu, Takairangi and Thompson have been part of Kiwis squads before, without actually taking the field.

The wider squad currently consists of 36 players and will be named in instalments as their teams drop out of NRL premiership contention over coming weeks.

The size of that squad will also fluctuate, depending on injuries and other unavailabilities that arise.

Several Kiwis regulars are already ruled out through injury and other factors, including Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, Peta Hiku, Dean Whare, Kieran Foran and Kodi Nikorima.

A final travelling squad of 24 will be named during the week after the NRL Grand Final on October 2.

The first group of Kiwis train-on players named is:  

Lewis Brown                                      Manly Warringah Sea Eagles
Addin Fonua-Blake                          Manly Warringah Sea Eagles
David Fusitu’a                                    NZ Warriors
Shaun Johnson                                 NZ Warriors
Solomone Kata                                 NZ Warriors
Shaun Kenny-Dowall                      Sydney Roosters
Thomas Leuluai                                 NZ Warriors
Sam Lisone                                         NZ Warriors
Isaac Liu                                               Sydney Roosters
Tuimoala Lolohea                             NZ Warriors
Issac Luke                                            NZ Warriors
Simon Mannering                            NZ Warriors
Ben Matulino                                     NZ Warriors
Manu Ma’u                                        Parramatta Eels
Sam Moa                                             Sydney Roosters
Jason Nightingale                             St George Illawarra Dragons
Tim Simona                                         Wests Tigers
Brad Takairangi                                 Parramatta Eels
Martin Taupau                                  Manly Warringah Sea Eagles
Elijah Taylor                                        Wests Tigers    
Bodene Thompson                         NZ Warriors
Manu Vatuvei                                   NZ Warriors
Jared Waerea-Hargreaves           Sydney Roosters

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.