Jesse Bromwich to lead New Zealand against Tonga

Josh McAllister
New Zealand Jesse Bromwich will move from Melbourne Storm to the Dolphins from 2023

Jesse Bromwich has been appointed captain of New Zealand for their mid-season international Test against Tonga.

Bromwich, 33, has played 29 times for New Zealand and is the most experienced international in the current squad. He made his debut for the Kiwis back in 2012.

Head coach Michael Maguire said: “It’s a tribute to Jesse and the work he has done that has seen him earn respect as a true leader with Melbourne.

“He’s again co-captain for the Storm this season which speaks volumes for the regard he’s held in at such a great club.”

The forward is currently in his 13th and final season with Melbourne Storm, having put pen to paper with the Dolphins for the 2023 campaign. Since making his NRL debut in 2010, he has made 284 appearances, scoring 32 tries.

In the past 11 seasons he has never played fewer than 19 matches in a campaign and then only because the 2020 season was shortened by the Covid pandemic.

New Zealand to face Tonga

Rugby league will make an emotional return to Mt Smart Stadium this Saturday for New Zealand’s Test with Tonga

The Warriors’ last home game before the COVID-19 pandemic on August 30, 2019. The last Test match played at the ground was five weeks before that on June 22 when New Zealand beat Tonga 34-14.

New Zealand: Nelson Asofa-Solomona (Storm), Jesse Bromwich (Storm), Kenny Bromwich (Storm), Dylan Brown (Eels), Erin Clark (Titans), James Fisher-Harris (Panthers), Kieran Foran (Sea Eagles), Peta Hiku (Cowboys), Jahrome Hughes (Storm), Moses Leota (Panthers), Isaac Liu (Titans), Joseph Manu (Roosters), Te Maire Martin (Broncos), Ken Maumalo (Tigers), Ronaldo Mulitalo (Sharks), Griffin Neame (Cowboys), Briton Nikora (Sharks), Marata Niukore (Eels), Isaiah Papali’i (Eels), Jordan Rapana (Raiders), Jordan Riki (Broncos), Brandon Smith (Storm), Scott Sorensen (Panthers), Joseph Tapine (Raiders), Dallin Watene-Zelezniak (Warriors).

Tonga: Tolotau Koula (Sea Eagles), Siosifa Talakai (Sharks), Moses Suli (Dragons), Sione Katoa (Sharks), Kotoni Staggs (Broncos), Talatau Amone (Dragons), Siosiua Taukeiaho (Roosters), Siliva Havili (Rabbitohs), Addin Fonua-Blake (Warriors), Sitili Tupouniua (Roosters), Keaon Koloamatangi (Rabbitohs), Jason Taumalolo (Cowboys), Soni Luke (Panthers), Haumole Olakau’atu (Sea Eagles), Tevita Pangai Jnr (Bulldogs), Tevita Tatola (Rabbitohs), Moeaki Fotuaika (Titans), Will Penisini (Eels), Isaiya Katoa (Panthers), Andrew Fifita (Sharks), Joe Ofahengaue (Tigers), Starford To’a (Tigers), Christian Tuipulotu (Sea Eagles), Eliesa Katoa (Warriors).

READ MORE: James Roby on possible England return & will he play on in 2023?

LOVE RUGBY LEAGUE: All the latest news, Podcast, App & Fantasy RL