Jamaica name squad to face England Knights in Jordan Turner’s testimonial

Drew Darbyshire
Jordan Turner of Jamaica

Jordan Turner is set to make his Jamaica debut

Jamaica have named their squad to take on England Knights in Jordan Turner’s testimonial match on Friday night.

The Reggae Warriors will face the Knights at Castleford’s Mend-A-Hose Jungle on Friday evening, 7:45pm kick-off.

Turner is one of three Super League players named, the others being Huddersfield duo Ashton Golding and Michael Lawrence.

Eight Championship players have also been included in Jermaine Coleman’s squad – Greg Johnson (Batley), Jon Magrin, Keenen Tomlinson (Dewsbury), James Woodburn-Hall (Halifax), Jacob Ogden (London Broncos), Izaac Farrell, Joel Farrell (Sheffield) and Ben Jones-Bishop (York).

Jamaica director of rugby and senior head coach Romeo Monteith said: “We want to continue our World Cup preparation and this game gives us a great chance to test ourselves against a very good side.

Follow Love Rugby League on Instagram

“We will see some new faces and try some new combinations. It will be a tough clash and hopefully gets us ready for the following week’s full international against Scotland at Featherstone.

“We have several players missing due to injuries picked up at the back end of the English season. The sport has yet to resume on the island, but that has opened the doors for others to make an impact. We hope the fans will come out and support Jordan, I’m certain they’ll see an exciting game.”

Jamaica: Greg Johnson (Batley), Jordan Turner (Castleford), Jon Magrin, Keenen Tomlinson, (Dewsbury), Danny Bravo, Ross Peltier, (Doncaster), James Woodburn-Hall (Halifax) Ashton Golding, Michael Lawrence (Huddersfield), Aaron Jones-Bishop, Jordan Andrade, Jy-mel Coleman (Hunslet), Mo Agoro, (Keighley), Jacob Ogden (London Broncos) Abevia McDonald (London Skolars), Izaac Farrell, Joel Farrell (Sheffield), Joe Brown (Workington), Ben Jones-Bishop (York), Christopher Ball, Kadeem Williams (Unattached).

England Knights: Matty Ashton, Ellis Longstaff, Danny Walker, Connor Wrench (Warrington), Jack Broadbent, Levi Edwards, Morgan Gannon, Tom Holroyd (Leeds), Lewis Dodd, Matty Lees, Aaron Smith (St Helens), Matty English, Will Pryce, Olly Wilson (Huddersfield), Sam Halsall, Liam Marshall, James McDonnell, Kai Pearce-Paul (Wigan), George Lawler, Mikey Lewis (Hull KR).

READ MORE: England Knights name squad to face Jamaica