Jake Mamo and Jarrod Sammut named in Malta train-on squad

Jake Mamo and Jarrod Sammut have been selected for Malta’s train-on squad ahead of a very busy schedule.

The Knights will participate in two world events, the Emerging Nations World Championship at the end of the year in Sydney, and European Championship C – South, which doubles up as a qualifying event for the 2021 Rugby League World Cup, together with other internationals, including a June Test against South Africa.

Malta have named 28 locally-based players in the squad who have been training under coach Sam Blyton-Keep for several weeks as they prepare to start their Euro C campaign against Ukraine in Marsa on June 30.

MRL representative and Falcons player, Jean Pierre Zarb, said: “We are committed to growing the Knights brand by spreading our wings and showcasing the game to fans in all parts of Malta and around the world.

“Our aim is to win European Championship C and to do so we will need to play incredibly well throughout as the quality of the other countries is going to be higher than ever.

“I am confident that we have the squad to ensure a successful campaign as we have some special players like Matthew Camilleri and Joseph Pio-Mizzi making an impression.

“Add in a couple of experienced heritage players like Jake Attard and possibly Matthew Mizzi, plus we are looking forward to playing on home soil for the first time since September 2015.”

Malta train-on squad:

Jake Attard (Asquith)

Joshua Cregan (Bankstown Sports)

Blake Phillips (Collegians)

Martin Barbara (Falcons)

Luke Cutajar (Falcons)

Damien Davis (Falcons)

Ernest Degabriele (Falcons)

Vince Farrugia (Falcons)

Tyson Freeman (Falcons)

Matthew James Grech (Falcons)

Liam Scicluna (Falcons)

Luke Xuereb (Falcons)

Jean Pierre Zarb (Falcons)

Ashley Harrison (Gladiators)

Jon Jon Micallef (Gladiators)

Clifford Debattista (Gozo)

Joseph Pio Mizzi (Gozo)

Aaron Grech (Guildford)

Kyal Greene (Helensburgh)

Jake Mamo (Huddersfield)

Jono Dallas (Jamberoo)

Shaun Chircop (Kavallieri)

Nicolai Grech (Kavallieri)

Terence Galdes (Kavallieri)

Frankie Imbroll (Kavallieri)

Nathan Zammit (Kavallieri)

Matthew Mizzi (Lithgow)

Jarrod Sammut (London Broncos)

Jeremy Dela (Malta Origin)

Nathan Falzon (Nowra-Bomaderry)

Matt Booth (Overseas RFC)

Christian Briffa (Overseas RFC)

Clayton Cassar (Overseas RFC)

John Debono (Overseas RFC)

Pete Debono (Overseas RFC)

James Donovan (Overseas RFC)

Aiden Grech (Overseas RFC)

Anthony Harvey (Overseas RFC)

Alessandro Patamia (Overseas RFC)

Dillon Urry (Overseas RFC)

Zach Borg (St Clair Comets)

Aidan Glanville (St Marys)

Dean Zammit (St Marys)

Joshua Caruana (St Pats Blacktown)

Jake Lennox (St Pats Blacktown)

Mark Alamango (Stompers)

Matthew Alexander (Stompers)

Malcolm Attard (Stompers)

Matthew Camilleri (Stompers)

Julian Caruana (Stompers)

Dragan Cerketa (Stompers)

Nick Formosa (Stompers)

Richard Gum (Stompers)

Gary Hili (Stompers)

Nicky Maylor (Stompers)

Charles Mercieca (Stompers)

Aidan Micallef (Stompers)

Ben Naudi (Stompers)

Ryan Sullivan (Stompers)

Adam Campbell (Thirlmere Roosters)

Cameron Mazelli (Unattached)

Tyson Muscat (Unattached)

Ian Catania (Warilla)

Ben Stone (West Newcastle)

Justin Rodriguez (Wests Illawarra)

Jamie Brincat Brockdorf (Wolves)

Daniel Ghirlando (Wolves)

Andrew Perrotti (Wolves)

Clive Sciberras (Wolves)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.