Ireland name 30-man squad

Ireland Rugby League have released a 30-man squad from which they will pick their team to face Wales at The Gnoll in Neath on Saturday 22nd October (kick-off 6pm).

This match is likely to see to return of Wales dual-code international Gareth Thomas after breaking his arm whilst playing for Crusaders in July.

The Welsh will face a stiff test from their old rivals who could be fielding up to 14 players from the Super League, making it a mouthwatering clash before Wales start their Four Nations campaign.

There are 13 uncapped players in the Irish squad including St Helens youngster Nathan Ashe, Leeds Rhinos prop Kyle Amor – who has been on loan with Wakefield – and the Wildcats’ Stuart Howarth.

Alongside them, the likes of Aaron McCloskey and Ian Cross, who have signed with St Helens from the Irish domestic competition, are given their bow alongside North Dublin Eagle Joe Taylor who has trialled at Harlequins and Leeds.

Newly appointed Ireland coach Mark Aston said: “We are looking forward to the challenges ahead of us this year. The squad is a good mix of domestic players, new young players and some experience to guide the team along the way.

“The experience will come from championship duo Bob Beswick and Liam Finn who have 30 caps between them and have been an integral part of the Wolfhounds since the 2008 World Cup. I will be looking for both do the same in our lead up to the next one.”

Ireland will also be taking on Scotland and France this autumn.

Tickets for Wales v Ireland at the advance price of just £5 for concessions and £10 for adults can be bought online by going to

IRELAND SQUAD: Liam Harrison (Barrow Raiders), George Flanagan (Batley Bulldogs), Damien Blanch (Catalan Dragons), Elliott Cosgrove (Dewsbury Rams), Liam Finn (Featherstone Rovers), Ryan Fieldhouse, James Haley, Paul Handforth, Bob Beswick (Halifax RLFC), Jamie O’Callaghan, Jason Golden (Harlequins RL), Gregg McNally (Huddersfield Giants), Luke Ambler, Kyle Amor, Callum Casey (Leeds Rhinos), Joe Taylor (North Dublin Eagles), Paddy Boyle (Oxford RL), Nathan Ashe, Aaron McCloskey, Ian Cross (St Helens), Sean Gleeson, Ryan Boyle (Salford City Reds), Vinny Finnigan, Tim Bergin (Sheffield Eagles), Ged Corcoran (Toulouse), Lemeki Vaipulu (Treaty City Titans), Stewart Howarth (Wakfield Trinity Wildcats), Tyrone McCarthy (Warrington Wolves), Kurt Hegarty, Simon Finnegan (Widnes Vikings)


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.