Full list of new International Rugby League world rankings for men, women & wheelchair

World Cup trophies

The International Rugby League (IRL) has revealed the latest world rankings for men, women and wheelchair nations.

The world rankings are calculated on each nation’s performance over the current season and the three preceding seasons.

Points are awarded to each team for each match based on:

  • The result of the match i.e. win, lose or draw
  • The margin of victory (or defeat) – the larger the winning margin the greater the value to the rankings
  • The relative strength of opposition faced – if you play a higher ranked team that is of greater value than playing a lower ranked team
  • The date of the match – more recent matches are weighted more heavily – a result in the most recent 2 years is worth double a result 3 years ago and 4 times a result that is 4 years old
  • The importance of the match – World Cup matches are ranked top followed in order by World Cup qualifiers, regional championships and one-off international matches

The points are then used to create the official world rankings by ordering the teams by virtue of the points gained over the four-year period.

New Zealand are the number one ranked nation in the men’s international scene. World Cup holders Australia have fallen to fourth ahead of next year’s tournament.

In addition, Australia are the number one in the women’s game while France are the team to beat in the wheelchair game.

THE SULLY BALL: World Cup ball named in honour of pioneer Clive Sullivan

International Rugby League world rankings:


1 New Zealand

2 England

3 Tonga

4 Australia

5 Papua New Guinea

6 Fiji

7 France

8 Samoa

9 Serbia

10 Greece

11 Scotland

12 Ireland

13 Lebanon

14 Netherlands

15 Malta

16 Italy

17 Czech Republic

18 Jamaica

19 Turkey

20 Norway

21 Poland

22 Cook Islands

23 Wales

24 USA

25 Ukraine

26 Philippines

27 Nigeria

28 Spain

29 Germany

30 Hungary

31 Ghana

32 Sweden

33 Morocco

34 Cameroon

35 Russia

36 Canada

37 Solomon Islands

38 South Africa

39 Bulgaria

40 Vanuatu

41 Belgium

42 Brazil

43 Chile

44 Bosnia and Herzegovina

45 Colombia

46 Denmark

47 Latvia

Follow Love Rugby League on Instagram


1 Australia

2 New Zealand

3 England

4 Papua New Guinea

5 France

6 Canada

7 Serbia

8 Italy

9 Fiji

10 Turkey

11 Samoa

12 Cook Islands

13 Wales

14 Ireland

15 Brazil

16 Greece

17 Lebanon


1 France

2 England

3 Wales

4 Australia

5 Scotland

6 Ireland

7 Italy

8 Spain

READ MORE: List of Rugby League World Cup 2021 fixtures – date-by-date by tournament

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.