Hayne named International Player of the Year

Australia and Parramatta star Jarryd Hayne was crowned International Player of the Year at an awards dinner last night.

Hayne, XX, also won the Dally M Player of the Year award in the NRL after helping the Eels reach the Grand Final, despite them finishing 8th in the table.

He fought off competition from Melbourne pair and Australia team-mates Greg Inglis and Billy Slater to claim the award.

Leeds youngster Ryan Hall was named International Rookie of the Year after a superb season saw him finish as top try scorer in Super League and establish himself in the England side. He was chosen ahead of England team-mate and Warrington bound scrum half Richie Myler and Penrith centre Michael Jennings.

Hall was one of three Englishmen named in team of the year, together with Leeds team-mate Kevin Sinfield and Wests Tigers back-rower Gareth Ellis. Australia were represented by Hayne, Inglis, Jonathan Thurston and Cameron Smith while Kiwis Benji Marshall and Fuifui Moimoi are also included.

Craig Bellamy was named as coach of the year after leading Melbourne to their second NRL crown in three years, while Shayne Hayne was named referee of the year ahead of Steve Ganson and Ashley Klein.

Player of the Year
Winner: Jarryd Hayne (Parramatta and Australia)
Shortlisted: Greg Inglis (Melbourne and Australia), Billy Slater (Melbourne and Australia).

Rookie of the Year
Winner: Ryan Hall (Leeds and England)
Shortlisted: Michael Jennings (Penrith and Australia), Richie Myler (Salford and England).

Referee of the Year
Winner: Shayne Hayne (Australia).
Shortlisted: Steve Ganson (England), Ashley Klein (Australia).

Team of the Year
Full-back: Jarryd Hayne (Parramatta and Australia).
Winger: Ryan Hall (Leeds and England).
Centre: Greg Inglis (Melbourne and Australia).
Stand-off: Benji Marshall (Wests Tigers and New Zealand).
Scrum-half: Jonathan Thurston (North Queensland and Australia).
Prop: Fuifui Moimoi (Parramatta and New Zealand).
Hooker: Cameron Smith (Melbourne and Australia).
Second row: Gareth Ellis (Wests Tigers and England).
Loose forward: Kevin Sinfield (Leeds and England).

Coach of the Year
Winner: Craig Bellamy (Melbourne and NSW).
Shortlisted: Stephen Kearney (New Zealand), Kevin Moore (Sydney Bulldogs)

Nations’ Player of the Year
Cook Islands: Karl Temata
Czech Republic: Josef Kucera
Estonia: Alex Janov
Fiji: Jarryd Hayne
France: Olivier Elima
Germany: Jimmy Keinhorst
Ireland: Damien Blanch
Italy: Giovanni Franchi
Jamaica: Roy Calvert
Japan: Hiroshi MIyazak
Latvia: Kristaps Jakushs
Lebanon: Ramy Rassi
PNG: David Mead
Russian: Nikolay Zagoskin
Samoa: Kylie Leuluai
Scotland: Iain Morrison
Serbia: Soni Radovanovic
South Africa: Andre Loader
Tonga: Richard Fa’aoso
Ukraine: Mikhail Troyan
USA: Siose Muliumu
Wales: Jordan James
RLIF Spirit of Rugby League Award Recipient: Ken Arthurson.

About James Gordon 7067 Articles
Love Rugby League editor. Founded the website back in 2005. Worked with a range of clubs and sponsors during that time. Also commentates for BBC.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.