GB Pioneers squad announced

The squad for this year’s GB Pioneers tour to Hungary at the end of July has been announced. 

20 players from University’s across the country will make the trip on July 22 and will play against local sides as well as running training sessions in order to help the growth of the game in Hungary.

The Pioneers’ first match is on July 23, a date which also marks the fifth anniversary of the first game of Rugby League to have been played in Hungary.

The squad will then play in the EuroTag tournament on July 27, and then compete in a second tournament on July 30, before flying back to the UK the following day.

During the week, the Pioneers will deliver introduction to Rugby League sessions to local children and young people, as well as supporting the Hungarian national side and existing local sides as well as running sessions to help the growth of the game in Hungary.

The squad will also take in a trip to the country’s capital city, Budapest.

The GB Pioneers squad is as follows:

Aaron Levy – Newcastle University

Angus Parkin – University of Liverpool

Ben Lines – Oxford Brookes University

Bowden Morgan – Newcastle University

Corie Shorrock – Bangor University

David Harrison  – University of Bristol

Elliot Townsend – University of Hull

Iestyn Withers – Cardiff Met University

Josh Hill – University of Salford

Jush Tucker – Durham University

Keenen Tomlinson – Leeds Beckett University

Lewis Davey – Leeds Trinity University

Liam Curnow – Cardiff Met University

Liam Jackson – Loughborough University

Louis Ford – Swansea University

Mark Cordeaux – University of Sheffield

Martyn Steel – University of Leicester

Matt McKelvey – Belfast Met University

Ryan Scholes – University of Bradford

Tim Smith – University of Hertfordshire

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.