France to host 2025 Rugby League World Cup

Rugby League World Cup 2021

France will be confirmed as the hosts of the Rugby League World Cup 2025 competition.

A statement released by the French Federation has today confirmed that the full details will be announced on January 11 as France win the bid for the next tournament.

The full press release said: “Luc Lacoste President of the French Rugby League Federation and Hon. Troy Grant, President of the International Rugby League, invite the media to the press conference announcing the award of the Rugby World Cup to France in 2025.

“This conference will be opened by Prime Minister Jean Castex and will be held on Tuesday, January 11, 2022, from 10:00am. to 12:00pm, at the Auditorium of the National Agency for Territory Cohesion.

“It is during this conference that all the details of the event will be revealed.”

2021 Rugby League World Cup

The much anticipated 2021 Rugby League World Cup will take place in 2022. England kick-off the tournament at Newcastle United’s St James’ Park. They face Samoa in the tournament’s first game on Saturday October 15. Additionally, Australia face Fiji later that day in Leeds.

Moreover, all 32 teams across the 21 competing nations have fully committed to the revised tournament schedule in 2022.

READ: Full list of new International Rugby League world rankings for men, women & wheelchair.

International rankings

Australia are set to go into this year’s World Cup as the fourth-ranked team behind New Zealand, England and Tonga. The International Rugby League (IRL) updated the latest world rankings earlier in December.

The Kiwis remain top but England and Tonga have overtaken the 2017 World Cup winners. Australia have won just two of their four tests since beating England in the final four years ago.


1 Comment

  1. Of course Jamaica are looking to make their team a lot more competitive now, but is there any chance of a revival of a West Indies and Caribbean region combined national team? There a probably a few British based players of heritage (I think we should extend further back in terms of generations when considering players eligibility for teams less developed on the international stage) as well as a wider array of players to choose from when, individually, those nations would struggle to field a competitive team as of now.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.