Four legends to join Rugby League Hall of Fame

Four rugby league legends are to be inducted into the Hall of Fame next month, the first new inductees since 2005.

The inductions will take place at the Rugby World Cup 2013 Celebration Dinner at Huddersfield on Friday November 1 when the quartet will have their places alongside the 17 existing members confirmed.

The four new inductees will be joined at the dinner by some of the six living members of the Hall of Fame, including Neil Fox MBE and Billy Boston MBE, who have already confirmed their attendance.

RFL chief executive Nigel Wood said: “It is right and proper that we elect our greatest players to the Hall of Fame at a time when the stars of today are striving for glory in RLWC2013.

“It is 25 years since the first players were inducted into the Hall of Fame and there are some truly wonderful individuals in there: I am sure that the four new inductees will be worthy additions to this exclusive and prestigious club.”

The four new inductees were identified by a specially-convened selection panel comprised of experienced journalists, broadcasters and administrators. The identities of the new inductees will be announced on Wednesday October 30.

To be eligible for nomination to the Hall of Fame, players must have played professional rugby league in the UK for at least 10 years, and played his last professional match in the UK at least 10 years before the Hall of Fame induction ceremony.

Current Hall of Fame members: Eric Ashton MBE, Billy Batten, Brian Bevan, Billy Boston, Douglas Clark, Neil Fox MBE, Ellery Hanley MBE, Martin Hodgson, Vince Karalius, Roger Millward MBE, Alex Murphy OBE, Jonty Parkin, Gus Risman, Albert Rosenfeld, Jim Sullivan, Tom Van Vollenhoven, Harold Wagstaff.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.