Four legends inducted into Leeds Rugby League Hall of Fame

Leeds Rhinos have welcomed four legends into their Hall of Fame.

This year marks 50 years since the Watersplash Final and players from the Leeds and Wakefield squads from that season were present at the dinner at Emerald Headingley.

It is also 40 years since David Ward led Leeds to back-to-back Challenge Cup wins at Wembley in 1978 and 30 years since Leeds defeated Castleford at Elland Road to lift the Yorkshire Cup for a record extending 17th County Cup title.

As part of the dinner, four more inductees were revealed to join the Leeds Rugby League Hall of Fame. Legendary skipper Joe Thompson was joined by half-back Jeff Stevenson, goal-kicking full-back Ben Risman and the first player from the modern era to join the Hall of Fame, Garry Schofield.

They follow in the footsteps of John Holmes, David Ward, Keith McLellan and Lewis Jones. The latter three were present to announce the new members to join themselves in the Hall of Fame.

The Heritage Committee will each year nominate four candidates to the Board of Directors of Leeds Rhinos for the Leeds CF&A board to make the final decision.

Rhinos CEO, Gary Hetherington, said: “As a club we are immensely proud of our heritage.

“We are delighted that so many players from all three Cup winning teams could join us on the night, for a very special occasion.

“Fans can see the new look stadium developing all around us and our heritage will be at the heart of the new plans.”

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.