Five uncapped players in England squad for autumn Test matches

Wakefield duo Tom Johnstone and Reece Lyne are among five uncapped players in the 24-man England squad that will face New Zealand this autumn.

Johnstone, who has scored 24 tries for Trinity in Super League this season, and Lyne, who joined from Hull FC six years ago, are joined by St Helens star Luke Thompson, Joe Greenwood of Wigan Warriors and Castleford Tigers loose forward Adam Milner.

For Lyne, Greenwood and Milner, this is promotion from the England Knights squad that was selected earlier this summer, with the Knights squad for their forthcoming tour of Papua New Guinea being announced on Wednesday.

Gareth Widdop, Kallum Watkins, Ryan Hall, Ben Currie, Alex Walmsley and James Roby are ruled out of the fixture. Roby will have surgery at the end of the season.

England play France in a warm-up a game at Leigh Sports Village on Wednesday October 17, then three-match Test Series at the KCOM Stadium in Hull on Saturday October 27, at Anfield in Liverpool on Sunday November 4; and at Elland Road in Leeds on Sunday November 11.

England coach Wayne Bennett said: “The England team have an attractive and important series of matches this autumn, and the players are relishing the prospect of representing their country in front of home crowds again.

“It’s important that we build on the positive work of the last couple of years, including last year’s World Cup and the Denver Test, against what we’d expect to be the usual stern challenge from the Kiwis.”

England squad for 2018 autumn internationals:

John Bateman (Wigan Warriors),George Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs),Sam Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Tom Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs) Daryl Clark (Warrington Wolves),Jake Connor (Hull FC), Luke Gale (Castleford Tigers), James Graham (St George Illawarra Dragons), Joe Greenwood (Wigan Warriors),Chris Hill (Warrington Wolves), Josh Hodgson (Canberra Raiders), Tom Johnstone (Wakefield Trinity), Jonny Lomax (St Helens, Orrell St James), Reece Lyne (Wakefield Trinity),Tommy Makinson (St Helens), Jermaine McGillvary (Huddersfield Giants), Adam Milner (Castleford Tigers),Sean O’Loughlin (Wigan Warriors) Mark Percival (St Helens), Stefan Ratchford (Warrington Wolves), Luke Thompson (St Helens), Sam Tomkins (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Patricks),Elliott Whitehead (Canberra Raiders, West Bowling), George Williams (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Patricks).

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.