Finn and Rowley scoop Championship awards


Featherstone’s Liam Finn has been named Championship Player of the Year, while Leigh’s Paul Rowley claimed the coach award at a ceremony in Leeds on Tuesday night.

Finn led Rovers to their third consecutive league leaders’ shield, landing the world record for consecutive goalkicks on the way. He will be looking to help Featherstone to back-to-back Grand Final successes when they face Sheffield on Sunday.

The Eagles conquered Leigh in the play-offs, but that wasn’t enough to stop Centurions Head Coach Rowley from claiming Championship Coach of the Year. Rowley succeeded Ian Millward last winter, and overcame a turbulent pre-season to help lead them to second in the table.

New St Helens recruit Alex Walmsley was named Championship Young Player of the Year. Walmsley, 21, has stood out in the Bulldogs pack throughout 2012, and was rewarded with a three-year deal at Langtree Park for 2013, although he will still turn out for Batley on a dual-registration contract.

Doncaster coach Tony Miller was rewarded for guiding his side to the Championship 1 league title, promotion and the Grand Final, where they will face Barrow on Sunday, by being named Coach of the Year.

It was a double whammy for the Dons, with star man Paul Cooke being named as Player of the Year. They also shared the Club of the Year award with Featherstone.

Despite his side missing out on the Grand Final, Workington winger Elliott Miller was named Championship 1 Young Player of the Year, while the Cumbrians also claimed the Community Programme of the Year award.

Referee of the Year went to George Stokes, and Paul Grundill won the Neil Whittaker Award for match official achievement.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.