Fev dominate Championship awards shortlist

Featherstone Rovers’ success in winning the Co-operative Championship League Leaders Shield is reflected in the club’s dominance of the shortlists for the 2010 Co-operative Championships awards.

All three players short-listed in the Championship Player of the Year category – Kyle Briggs, Stuart Dickens and Liam Finn – helped Rovers secure the League Leaders’ Shield this summer, as did two of the players shortlisted for the Young Player of the Year award, Zac Hardaker and Sam Smeaton, who are joined on the list by Gareth Moore of Batley Bulldogs.

Featherstone coach Daryl Powell is also named on the three-man short-list for Coach of the Year alongside Warren Jowitt of Dewsbury Rams and Karl Harrison, who led Batley Bulldogs to Northern Rail Cup glory at Blackpool this summer.

In Championship One, twins David and Paul March have been short-listed for the Player of the Year award whilst newcomers South Wales Scorpions have two nominees with Steve Parry named on the shortlist for Young Player of the Year and Anthony Seibold among the contenders for Coach of the Year.

The winners will be announced at the gala Co-operative Championships awards dinner in Manchester on Tuesday September 21.

The Championship awards are decided by the head coaches in the two respective competitions, with each one submitting three nominations from outside their own club in each category. Their first nomination gains three points, the second two, and the final one a single point. The winners are those that collect the most points.

Co-operative Championship awards shortlists:

Player of the year – Kyle Briggs (Featherstone Rovers), Stuart Dickens (Featherstone Rovers), Liam Finn (Featherstone Rovers).
Young player of the year – Zak Hardaker (Featherstone Rovers), Gareth Moore (Batley Bulldogs), Sam Smeaton (Featherstone Rovers).
Coach of the year – Karl Harrison (Batley Bulldogs), Warren Jowitt (Dewsbury Rams), Daryl Powell (Featherstone Rovers).

Co-operative Championship One awards shortlists:

Player of the year – David March (Hunslet Hawks), Paul March (Hunslet Hawks), Paul O’Connor (Oldham).
Young player of the year – Tom Lineham (York City Knights), Steve Parry (South Wales Scorpions), Jarrad Stack (Workington Town).
Coach of the year – Gary Charlton and Martin Oglanby (Workington Town), Martin Crompton (Blackpool Panthers), Anthony Seibold (South Wales Scorpions).

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.