Featherstone women take Grand Final glory

It was Featherstone who had the early possession and made the first line break through Emma Slowe but the attack didn’t lead to a score. Danni Bound was lively around the fringes and earned the first score as she sprinted through the smallest of gaps, Natalie Gilmour slotted the conversion. Fast hands resulted in the next score for Featherstone not long after as the ball was shipped down the line for centre Hannah Bairstow to score. Bradford’s Danni Swaine was held out just short but they remained patient and Lois Forsell forced her way over. 

Featherstone responded and enjoyed a sustained period of pressure in which Gemma Walsh was held up just short. Bradford broke out Tara Yarrow cut a superb angle to race into the Rovers half Kirsty Moroney sent up a well weighted cross field kick and Amy Hardcastle won the jump to the ball to race over. 

Featherstone stretched their lead next with a period of sustained pressure Katie O’Toole eventually crashed over on the stroke of half time. Featherstone 16 Bradford 8.

Into the second half and Featherstone came out firing Debbie Hodgkinson was rewarded for her defensive efforts in the first half when she surged over the line just minutes into the second period. Quick thinking from a penalty almost saw Lyndsay Anfield clear but Bradford held out the initial attack. Rovers remained patient and Anfield got her reward moments later with a well worked try.

Katie O’Toole got her second of the afternoon following a surging run by the hard working Emma Slowe, O’Toole sped over from dummy half. The defensive efforts of Bradford were impressive, Hardcastle and Wilson leading the charge.

However Rovers eventually found a gap as O’Toole secured a hat-trick with 15 minutes to go following a strong run by Andrea Dobson.  Featherstone 38 Bradford 8.

The next Rovers try came from a well-timed pass by Featherstones Kim Field who fed Hannah Bairstow, she swivelled out of a tackle to dot down. Bradford looked to end on a high but handling errors cost them at the crucial moment and Featherstone broke away, they kept possession well and wing Michelle Greenwood found herself in space out wide to race over for the final try of the game.

Emma Slowe was awarded the player of the match, her ability to get over the gain line every time she had the ball gave Featherstone the forward momentum they needed. 

Final score Featherstone 46 Bradford 8.

Featherstone Rovers

1. Lyndsay Anfield
2. Michelle Greenwood
3. Hannah Bairstow
4. Danni Titterington
5. Natalie Gilmour
6. Gemma Walsh
7. Katie Cooper-Birkenhead
8. Sarah Hewart
9. Danni Bound
10. Emma Slowe
11. Andrea Dobson
12. Debbie Hodgkinson
13. Kim Field


14. Jess Hammond
15. Katie O’Toole
16. Becky Cookson

Danni Bound – 1
Hannah Bairstow – 2
Katie O’Toole – 3
Debbie Hodgkinson – 1
Lyndsay Anfield – 1
Michelle Greenwood – 1 

Natalie Gilmour – 5


Bradford Thunderbirds

1. Jamie Dion
2. Sarah Ashton
3. Tara Yarrow
4. Amy Hardcastle
5. Ashlea Prescott
6. Danielle Bose
7. Kirsty Moroney
8. Lauren Hickey
9. Lois Forsell
10. Stacey Wilson
11. Lisa Taylor
12. Danni Swaine
13. Jen Waite


14. Joanne Ollerenshaw
15. Paige Costello
16. Lesley Bowling
17. Lauren Stallwood 

Lois Forsell – 1
Amy Hardcastle – 1


Referee: Mick Croft
Touch Judges: Neil Pascall & Dave Bradshaw
Half time Score:   Featherstone 16 Bradford 8
Man of the Match: Emma Slowe (Featherstone)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.