Featherstone announce squad numbers


Featherstone Rovers Head Coach Daryl Powell has announced his first team squad for 2013 and revealed that Liam Finn will captain the side following the retirement of Stuart Dickens.

The 2013 Championship Season sees the return of squad numbers after reverting to traditional positional numbers for 2012. Featherstone Rovers and Head Coach Daryl Powell have assembled a strong squad for 2013 as the club look to retain the league leaders shield for the fourth consecutive season.

Head Coach Daryl Powell said “The depth of our squad this year is, I believe, better than any time during my coaching career at Featherstone. We have quality and competition in every position and some outstanding young players who have progressed through our systems. Squad numbers are one thing but performance is another and the battle to play regularly is now on which should drive standards within the group.”

Half back Liam Finn who broke the world record in 2012 for successful attempts at goal, has been appointed captain. The role became vacant when long serving Stuart Dickens retired from playing after accepting a coaching position at Wakefield Trinity Wildcats in the close season.

Daryl Powell commented “Liam Finn is the right man to lead as captain after long-time incumbent Stuart Dickens departure. Liam is massively respected within the group and has the calmness and composure allied to a natural competitive nature to make a huge success of the job.”

On his appointment Liam Finn said “Featherstone Rovers have an illustrious history of players who have captained the side and I’m very proud to be given the responsibility by Daryl. Stuart was a fine leader and I know the role comes with a lot of expectations. I’m looking forward to leading the side for hopefully a successful 2013.”

Featherstone Rovers 2013 First Team Squad

1. Ian Hardman

2. Tom Saxton

3. Sam Smeaton

4. Greg Worthington

5. Tom Hodson

6. Andy Kain

7. Liam Finn (Captain)

8. Anthony England

9. Ben Kaye

10. Steve Crossley

11. Matty Dale

12. Tim Spears

13. Kyle Briggs

14. Andy Ellis

15. Lamont Bryan

16. Matt James

17. James Lockwood

18. Jonny Hepworth

19. Ben Helliwell

20. Micky Haley

21. Andy Bostock

22. Jack Bussey

23. Jack Ormanroyd

24. Liam Mackay

25. Todd Martin – Fan

In a special draw of those who have purchased a 2013 Membership, Todd Martin has been awarded squad number 25.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.