Fastest man competition at 9s final


The Rugby League 9s Grand Final night at Headingley Carnegie this Tuesday will see the return of Fastest Man Sprint challenge which was won last year by Leeds speedster Jamal Chisholm.

The contest will feature the likes of Salford City Reds’ Jodie Broughton, Rhys Evans of Warrington and Rhinos star Ben Jones Bishop going head to head in a sprint from one in-goal area to the other.

Ralph Rimmer, the RFL’s Chief Operating Officer said: “Rugby League’s Fastest Man Sprint is always a real crowd pleaser and we are delighted to see it return for the 9s Grand Final night.

“It promises to be a fantastic night of entertainment at Headingley Carnegie on Tuesday and I hope that fans will turn out in numbers for the final of the inaugural Rugby League 9s competition.

“There has been some superb entertainment offered up in the weekly festivals and for those that haven’t seen 9s in action I would recommend getting along to the Finals to watch the seven Super League sides and Cumbria go head to head.”

The Rugby League 9s Finals night takes place on Tuesday July 5 at Headingley Carnegie with tickets costing £5 in advance for adults or £10 on the night, however kids go free.

Tickets are available from Headingley Carnegie Stadium ticket office or by calling 0871 423 1315.

The opening game is between Wigan Warriors and Hull FC which kicks off at 6pm, with the final due to commence at 9.20pm.

Rugby League 9s Grand Final night schedule

18:00               Quarter Final 1            Wigan Warriors v Hull FC

18:20               Quarter Final 2            Wakefield Trinity Wildcats v Salford City Reds

18:40               Quarter Final 3            Castleford Tigers v Cumbria

19:00               Quarter Final 4            Leeds Rhinos v Warrington Wolves

19:20               Plate Semi Final 1       QF 2 loser v QF 3 loser

19:40               Plate Semi Final 2       QF 1 loser v QF 4 loser

20:00               Semi Final 1                QF 1 winner v QF 4 winner

20:20               Semi Final 2                QF 2 winner v QF 3 winner

20:40               Plate Final                   Plate SF 1 winner v Plate SF 2 winner

21:00               Rugby League’s Fastest Man Sprint                        

21:20               Rugby League 9s Final           SF 1 winner v SF 2 winner

Rugby League’s Fastest Man Sprint confirmed entrants

Jodie Broughton – Salford City Reds

Rhys Evans – Warrington

Tom Lineman – Hull FC

Muffaro Mvududu – Featherstone Rovers

Ryan KingWigan Warriors

David ScottHull KR

Ben Jones Bishop – Leeds Rhinos