European Shield confirmed

The Rugby League European Federation has confirmed an amended international fixture schedule that features an expanded European Shield event in June and July.

Ukraine have relinquished their home tie in the East section and will instead remain in Moscow after their match with Russia – the latter’s first official outing for three years – to play Latvia, who then host Russia to complete the tournament in Riga.
In the West group, Germany will be looking to avenge their defeat to Czech Republic last year when the sides meet in Kaiserslautern with Serbia completing the line up for the Shield, which is now in its fourth year.

In the Bowl, Belgium have decided not to compete but the fixture still sees Malta and Norway XIII making their bows in official international competition.

All kick off times and stadia for the seven matches have now been confirmed following lengthy consultations with the competing nations.


Game 1 – 27th June
Russia v Ukraine, Dinamo Stadium, Moscow, 7pm

Game 2 – 29th June,
Ukraine v Latvia, Narofominsk, Moscow, 3pm

Game 3 – 31st July,
Latvia v Russia, Riga, Upezhtsiems Stadium, 1pm


Game 1 – 26th June
Czech Republic v Serbia, RK Petrovice, Prague, 5pm

Game 2 – 3rd July
Serbia v Germany, FK Radnicki Stadium, Belgrade, 5.30pm

Game 3 – 17th July
Germany v Czech Republic, Hochspeyer, Kaiserslautern, 5pm

4th June
Malta v Norway XIII, Hamrun, Malta, 7pm 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.