England to play in European Championships in 2023

Josh McAllister
England v France. News Images

England are one of eight nations set compete in the biggest-ever Rugby League European Championships next autumn. 

They are joined by World Cup nations Ireland, Italy, France, Wales and Scotland – alongside Spain and Serbia in the competition scheduled for next year.

The news follows the conclusion of the delayed 2021 World Cup, where Australia claimed their 12th title with a 30-10 victory over Samoa at Old Trafford.

The eight nations will contest the European Championship (Euro A) next autumn. 

Wheelchair nations are also set to have a tournament, with ERL currently putting the final touches to its plans for this competition.

Czech Republic, Germany, Greece, Netherlands, Norway and Ukraine will meet in Euro B for the right to progress to the final RLWC2025 qualifying tournament in 2024, with fixtures already announced.

More fixtures for England

England have already confirmed a mid-season clash with France at Warrington’s Halliwell Jones Stadium next April. It will be a part of a double header, with both the men’s and women’s sides set to meet next year.

ERL chairman Dean Andrew added: “We’ve already announced the fixtures for the men’s Euro B and further timing confirmations for the other competitions are imminent.

“The appetite for the international game is huge. I’m pleased that European Rugby League is able to have its short term calendar in place as we build towards the next global event, also in the northern hemisphere, in 2025.”

World Cup content

It’s more than just a game for us: Samoa stars on representing heritage

James Tedesco ranks World Cup win at top of career achievements

Comparing 2013 Rugby League World Cup attendances to 2021

FOLLOW: Keep up with all the latest on the Love Rugby League mobile app and podcast