England squad named for Italy warm-up

England coach Steve McNamara has named his squad for the World Cup warm-up game against Italy on Saturday.

Skipper Kevin Sinfield is selected at scrum-half, alongside Rangi Chase at half-back, with Sam Burgess at loose forward.

Leeds full-back Zak Hardaker and Burgess’ younger brother Tom will play for the England Knights team, who take on Samoa in the first game of the double-header at Salford.

McNamara said: “We are delighted to be playing against Italy in the historic international,” said McNamara.

“This is the first time that both nations have played each other at this level and it should be ideal preparation before we take on Australia a week later in the opening game of the Rugby League World Cup 2013 in Cardiff. Italy have made tremendous progress and are well equipped with quality players representing them from the NRL and Super League.

“The make-up of the side looks very exciting, with the right blend of youth and experience. There is a great opportunity for the players to really push on and stake a claim for a start against Australia the following week.

“Our preparation has been first-class we have trained exceptionally well at our camp in Potchefstroom, South Africa. This is the best prepared side to come from England and we are ready for what promises to be the most competitive World Cup in history.”

The England team to face Italy at Salford City Stadium on Saturday October 19 2013, kick off 4.30pm is as follows (professional club and community club in brackets):

1. Sam Tomkins (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Patricks)
2. Ryan Hall (Leeds Rhinos, Oulton Raiders)
3. Carl Ablett (Leeds Rhinos, Hunslet Parkside)
4. Leroy Cudjoe (Huddersfield Giants, Newsome Panthers)
5. Tom Briscoe (Hull FC, Featherstone Lions)
6. Rangi Chase (Castleford Tigers, Dannevirke Tigers)
7. Kevin Sinfield, captain (Leeds Rhinos, Waterhead)
8. James Graham (Canterbury Bulldogs, Blackbrook)
9. Michael McIlorum (Wigan Warriors, Queens)
10. Lee Mossop (Wigan Warriors, Hensingham)
11. Gareth Hock (Widnes Vikings, Wigan St Judes)
12. Liam Farrell (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Patricks)
13. Sam Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs, Dewsbury Moor)


14. Josh Charnley (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Patricks)
15. Kallum Watkins (Leeds Rhinos, Latchford Albion)
16. Gareth Widdop (Melbourne Storm, King Cross)
17. Rob Burrow (Leeds Rhinos, Featherstone Lions)
18. Chris Hill (Warrington Wolves, New Spring Lions)
19. James Roby (St Helens, Blackbrook)
20. George Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs, Dewsbury Moor)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.