England name unchanged 17 to face Australia

England coach Steve McNamara has named another unchanged side for the third successive week ahead of this weekend’s Wembley extravaganza against Australia.

Danny McGuire and Gareth Carvell join the same 17 that took to the field against Wales at the Leigh Sports Village to make up the final 19-man squad.

Since 2008 England have lost all of their four games against the green and golds, and will look to make amends upon the hallowed turf of Wembley Stadium.

England’s last win against Australia at Wembley was the opening game of the 1995 World Cup, in which the hosts won 20-16. Despite losing the final at the same venue, captain Jamie Peacock will be looking to replicate the achievements of 16 years ago and qualify for the final at Elland Road on November 19.

Meanwhile Australia coach Tim Sheens has made two changes to the side that defeated New Zealand last Friday.

South Sydney’s Greg Inglis replaces the injured Willie Tonga. David Shillington misses out with an ankle injury, and is replaced by West Tigers’ Robbie Farrah in the 19-man squad.

Australia’s last appearance on the Wembley turf was at the height of the Australian Super League war, meaning none of the ARL aligned players toured.

An Australian Super League select side defeated Great Britain 38-14 in the first of three Super League test matches.


England 19-man squad to face Australia

Sam Tomkins
Ryan Hall
Jack Reed
Kirk Yeaman
Tom Briscoe
Kevin Sinfield
Rangi Chase
James Graham
James Roby
Jamie Peacock (c)
Gareth Ellis
Ben Westwood
Chris Heighington
Gareth Widdop
Adrian Morley
Jamie Jones_Buchanan
Jon Wilkin
Danny McGuire
Gareth Carvell


Australian 19-man squad to face England

Billy Slater
Akuila Uate
Greg Inglis
Chris Lawrence
Darius Boyd
Darren Lockyer (c)
Johnathan Thurston
Paul Gallen
Cameron Smith
Matt Scott
Luke Lewis
Sam Thaiday
Anthony Watmough
Cooper Cronk
Keith Galloway
Robbie Farrah
Tony Williams
Beau Scott
Corey Parker

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.