England in group with France, Lebanon and Wales for World Cup 9s

England are in Group C along with France, Lebanon and Wales for the World Cup 9s this autumn.

The NRL has confirmed the three pools which will make up the inaugural Rugby League World Cup 9s in Sydney later this year. It will be held at Bankwest Stadium in Parramatta on October 18-19.

NRL chief executive Todd Greenberg confirmed the format of the pools would ensure key rivals face each other in the fast-paced short form of rugby league.

The groups are:

Group A: Australia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea and USA.

Group B: England, France, Lebanon and Wales.

Group C: Tonga, Samoa, Fiji and Cook Islands.

The two highest-plaid teams from Group A would progress to the semi-finals, alongside the winners of Group B and C.

The two highest-placed teams from the Women’s pool, which features Australia, New Zealand, England and PNG, will feature in the women’s final.

There will be a number of key rules during the 9s tournament. There will be a bonus zone, giving teams the chance for a five-point try.

A 20-40 rule will be introduced, in addition to the traditional 40-20, with a 25-second shot clock on drop-kicked conversions. Golden Try will be played in the event of a match drawn after regular time.

More on site

Edinburgh Eagles win Scottish Cup

Paper Talk: Hampshire future, Hull KR coaching changes & swap deal falls through

Rugby League Today: Toronto lift League Leaders’ Shield, Holbrook talks & West Wales win!

Steve McNamara a “big fan” of James Maloney

Why Super League will look to recruit more Championship players

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.