Ellis given Tigers prize

Gareth Ellis has picked up the Wests Tigers player of the year award for the second consecutive season.

Ellis becomes the first player to win the award in back-to-back seasons for the club after a stellar year in the Tigers pack.

The 29-year-old former Leeds player played 24 matches for the Tigers in 2010, scoring six tries and helping the Tigers to the NRL preliminary final.

Ellis backed up his impressive defensive stats by developing a sharp attacking edge to his game under Tim Sheens’ direction.

He picked up his award at a sold out Wests Tigers Grand Final luncheon at Leichardt yesterday.

Skipper Robbie Farah collected the Noel Kelly Medal for Best Forward in 2010.

Meanwhile, five-eighth Benji Marshall was awarded the Keith Barnes Medal for Best Back for 2010. It the second Keith Barnes Medal for Marshall, having won in 2009.

Wests Tigers Assistant Coach Royce Simmons presented the Iron Men awards for playing all 24 matches this season to winger Lote Tuqiri, Marshall, Farah and back-rower Chris Heighington.

Wests Tigers 2010 Awards

Player of the Year 2010 – Gareth Ellis

Noel Kelly Medal for Best Forward 2010 – Robbie Farah

Keith Barnes Medal for Best Back 2010 – Benji Marshall

Rookie of the Year 2010 – Simon Dwyer

Iron Man 2010 – Lote Tuqiri, Benji Marshall, Robbie Farah, Chris Heighington

Members’ Player of the Year 2010 – Chris Heighington

Community Award 2010 – Benji Marshall

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.