Ellery Hanley: New Man of Steel concept working a treat

Ellery Hanley believes the new format for the Steve Prescott Man of Steel award is working wonders for the game.

Hanley became chair of a panel of former players and coaches for the new voting format to decide the Man of Steel award ahead of the season getting underway.

The Great Britain legend, who is the only player to have won the award three times, reckons the concept is benefitting Super League this year.

He told loverugbyleague.com: “The process is absolutely brilliant, all the players have bought into it and the spectators are enjoying it as well.

“Everyone I’ve spoke to love it and I’m hoping it is here to stay for good now.

“I don’t think you can get much better than the fact you’ve got ex-players and coaches on the panel who understand the game.

“They’ve been there on the football paddock, they’ve crossed the whitewash, they understand what every 80 minutes takes. They know what they’re looking for and it’s just a tremendous concept.”

Denis Betts, Phil Clarke, Paul Cooke, Eorl Crabtree, Jonathan Davies, Jerome Guisset, Robbie Hunter-Paul, Chris Joynt, Andy Lynch, Barrie McDermott, Adrian Morley, Terry O’Connor, Martin Offiah, Jamie Peacock, Mal Reilly, Jason Robinson, Garry Schofield, Paul Sculthorpe, Keith Senior and Johnny Whiteley are on the Man of Steel voting panel with Hanley.

And Hanley admitted that he is enjoying working alongside the 20 other legends.

He added: “As chairman, I have trust in all the people on the panel.

“The panel are wonderful. In fact, the personnel would make a wonderful team and I trust every single one of them.

“The reports that go back to the headquarters, the points awarded and the explanation why they’ve rewarded those points is a good factor as well.”

More Super League

Trio key to Warrington’s success, says Bryson Goodwin

Mailbox: Reward defence for holding players up over the line

Rugby League Today: Sonny Bill on radar as Toronto plan union swoop, Leeds in on day off and no to ref abuse

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.