Leigh star Edwin Ipape named Championship Player of the Year

Edwin Ipape Championship Player of the Year SWpix
Photo: Allan McKenzie/SWpix

Papua New Guinea international Edwin Ipape has scooped the Championship Player of the Year award following a stellar debut season with Leigh.

The 23-year-old arrived at Leigh in January to have the opportunity to be coached by Kumuls legend Adrian Lam.

Ipape has already made a huge impact as the Centurions have romped to the League Leaders’ Shield and Sunday’s promotion-deciding Grand Final against Batley.

The Mount Hagen-born hooker won the Ray French Award as man of the match in their 1895 Cup final win over Featherstone at Tottenham.

KUMULS: How Papua New Guinea could line-up at the World Cup

In League 1, Keighley half-back Jack Miller was named Player of the Year after an outstanding season with Keighley. The Cougars dominated League 1 by winning every game they played in as they secured promotion to the Championship.

Miller was one of three Keighley award winners on a memorable night for the Cougars. Coach of the Year went to Rhys Lovegrove. They were also named League 1 Club of the Year.

JDG Media clients Barrow won the equivalent award for the Championship, having made such a positive impact following their promotion from League 1 in 2021.

Paul Crarey was another Barrow award-winner as he was named Championship Coach of the Year having steered the Raiders to a fourth-placed finish.

The winners at the 2022 Championship and League Awards:


Player of the Year – Edwin Ipape (Leigh)

Young Player of the Year – Sam Eseh (Featherstone/Barrow)

Coach of the Year – Paul Crarey (Barrow) 

Club of the Year – Barrow

League 1

Player of the Year – Jack Miller (Keighley)

Young Player of the Year – George Roby (Swinton) 

Coach of the Year – Rhys Lovegrove (Keighley)

Club of the Year – Keighley

Championship/League 1 Foundation of the Year – Sheffield Eagles

Special Awards – Kevin Nicholas (Batley) & Chris Hamilton (Oldham)

Leigh take on Batley in the Championship Grand Final this Sunday. The winner will take a spot in Super League for 2023.

PODCAST: Adam Cuthbertson on time at Leeds, Rhinos’ resurgence & Wayne Bennett’s influence

FOLLOW: Keep up with all the latest on the Love Rugby League mobile app and podcast

About Drew Darbyshire 8533 Articles
Love Rugby League Deputy Editor. Joined the site ahead of the 2017 World Cup and been a full-time reporter since 2018.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.