Dual-code Wakefield winger drafted in to Wales squad

John Kear Championship

Wakefield winger Kyle Evans has been named in John Kear’s 21-man squad for Wales’ test match against France in Albi on Sunday.

Evans, 31, has been featuring for Trinity’s reserves side having switched codes from rugby union.

He spent three seasons in the Welsh Premiership with Llanelli, scoring 27 tries in 57 games; and also played for regional side Scarlets, as well as Merthyr and Doncaster Knights.

After finishing the Championship rugby union season with Doncaster, Evans has scored tries for Wakefield reserves against Hull and Warrington.

Kear has drafted in to his 21-man squad Evans and Warrington prop Luke Thomas, who weren’t originally named in the 30-man squad last week.

Thomas, 19, is yet to make his first team debut for Warrington, but was named in the squad for their recent Super League game against St Helens.

OPPOSITION: France squad named as coach thanks clubs for support


Salford winger Rhys Williams will captain the side as he makes a record-breaking 31st appearance for Wales.

The country’s record try scorer will move clear of Jordan James and Ian Watson.

As well as Evans and Thomas, there are eight other possible debutants in Kear’s squad.

They include Will Evans and Cobi Green, who represented Wales in the International Nines in 2019, and Leigh centre Luis Roberts.

Recent York recruit from St George-Illawarra Dragons, Bailey Antrobus, is in line for a debut, but Leigh full-back Caleb Aekins has withdrawn.

Other possible debutants are Jude Ferreira, who is on loan at London from Hull; Barrow forward Tom Hopkins, Oldham back Owen Restall and Widnes hooker Lewis Hulme.

It’s Wales’ first international in more than three years, since beating Ireland 40-8 November 2018.

There are eight players who were in the 17 that day who have been named in the 21-man squad.

Wales squad v France

Bailey Antrobus (York), Joe Burke (West Wales), Chester Butler (Bradford), Michael Butt (Swinton), Connor Davies, Curtis Davies (both Workington); Will Evans (Whitehaven), Ben Evans (Bradford), Kyle Evans (Wakefield), Jude Ferreira (London B), Matty Fozard (Widnes), Dalton Grant (London B); Cobi Green (Rochdale), Tom Hopkins (Barrow), Lewis Hulme (Widnes), Elliot Kear (Bradford), Owen Restall (Oldham); Luis Roberts (Leigh), Luke Thomas (Warrington), Anthony Walker (Bradford), Rhys Williams (Salford)

LOVE RUGBY LEAGUE: All the latest news, Podcast, App & Fantasy RL

About James Gordon 7071 Articles
Love Rugby League editor. Founded the website back in 2005. Worked with a range of clubs and sponsors during that time. Also commentates for BBC.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.