Dates confirmed for final European Qualifiers

Dates have been confirmed for next year’s final European qualifying groups for the 2021 Rugby League World Cup.

The nations in group one – Italy, Ireland and Spain, have all faced each other before at senior level, while those in group two – Greece or Norway, Russia and Scotland have never previously met.

We played Ireland in the qualifiers for the 2017 World Cup and Italy in a friendly in 2015 so we know both teams very well,” said Spain head coach Darren Fisher.

“This is a very tough group. However, we will prepare as best as we can and ensure we are up for this challenge.

“Everyone love games with high reward and there is nothing bigger than trying to qualify for a World Cup.”

The top two nations in each group will make the full tournament in England.

The match to determine who joins Scotland and Russia in group two, the final of European Championship C between Greece and Norway, will take place on neutral territory, in London, on May 18, with plans to make it part of a double-header event in the capital.

RLEF general manager Chris Thair commented: “All the nations who are still in contention have already come through tough qualifying games in 2018, and there is no doubt the excitement, pressure and on-field performances will need to be at an all-time high next year.

“Further details of times and venues will be revealed early in 2019. but we are set for a thrilling three weeks.”

Final European qualifying tournament:

Round 1: 

26-27 October, 2019

Spain v Ireland

Scotland v Russia

Round 2: 

2-3 November, 2019

Italy v Spain

Greece or Norway v Scotland

Round 3: 

9-10 November, 2019

Ireland v Italy

Russia v Greece or Norway

About Drew Darbyshire 8045 Articles
Love Rugby League Deputy Editor. Joined the site ahead of the 2017 World Cup and been a full-time reporter since 2018.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.