Daryl Clark named as Steve Prescott Man of Steel

Daryl Clark beat some quality competition to win the Steve Prescott Man of Steel award for 2014.

The Castleford Tigers hooker has been in superb form all season, and looks set to be England‘s starting dummy half in the forthcoming Four Nations tournament Down Under.

The 21-year-old beat Leeds Rhinos prop Jamie Peacock, Warrington forward Chris Hill and St Helens hooker James Roby to the award.

Clark also won the Young Player of the Year award, making him only the third player to take home both prizes since the inception of the awards in 1977.

Clark’s coach at Castleford, Daryl Powell, was handed the award for Coach of the Year, after taking the West Yorkshire club to the Challenge Cup final and the play-offs.

A host of other awards were handed out last night, at an awards dinner packed with the game’s great and good.

Full list of awards:

Top metre maker – Matty Russell (Warrington Wolves) – 3,546 metres

Top try-scorerJoel Monaghan (Warrington Wolves) – 28 tries

Hit manJames Roby (St Helens) – 1,054 tackles

Top GunLuke Walsh (St Helens) – 78.57 per cent

Outstanding AchievementMatt Diskin, John Clarke, Richard Horne, David Hodgson, Willie Manu, Martin Gleeson, Francis Meli

Foundation of the Year
Warrington Wolves

Club of the Year
Widnes Vikings

Young Player of the YearDaryl Clark (Castleford Tigers)

Coach of the Year
– Daryl Powell (Castleford Tigers)

Steve Prescott Man of SteelDaryl Clark (Castleford Tigers)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.