Cherry-Evans doubtful as Queensland’s Origin I team confirmed

Queensland Maroons have confirmed their line-up for the first State of Origin game of 2015, to be played at ANZ Stadium on May 27.

There has been uncertainty since the team was confirmed, however, with some reports in Australia stating that Daly Cherry-Evans has been withdrawn with injury.

On Tuesday night, Australian time, Queensland issued the following statement: “The QRL has today announced that Cowboy Michael Morgan will join the Maroons squad.

“Medical staff are assessing the condition of Daly Cherry-Evans and an official decision will be made tomorrow (Wednesday).”

Maroons coach Mal Meninga is also considering using Dylan Napa from the interchange bench, to add some size to his forward options.

“If Dylan plays, he’ll handle it from a toughness point of view. See how big he is and how enthusiastic he is,” Meninga said.

“I like the way he plays. He’ll come into calculations.”

The coach was clearly happy with the overall make-up of his team.

“It’s great to see everyone together again,” Meninga said.

“I’m very happy with the depth of the team at the moment. We’ve picked an in-form 17.”

Meanwhile, Meninga’s own future as coach of the Maroons has been confirmed, with him signing a deal to coach the team for another three years.

“I’ve agreed to go another three years, we’re just working out the details,” Meninga confirmed.

QUEENSLAND MAROONS: Billy Slater, Darius Boyd, Greg Inglis, Justin Hodges, Will ChambersJohnathan Thurston, Cooper Cronk, Matt Scott, Cameron Smith (captain), Nate Myles, Aidan Guerra, Sam Thaiday, Corey Parker.
Interchange: Daly Cherry-Evans, Josh McGuire, Matt Gillett, Jacob Lillyman
18th man: Dylan Napa/Michael Morgan

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.