Championships Team of the Week – September 1st

Premier Sports Performance of the Week – Gateshead Thunder

Gateshead Thunder completed their league campaign with a fourth win of the season to give departing coach Kevin Neighbour the perfect send off.

Neighbour’s men won 24-22 against Hemel Stags to complete their most successful season since 2008.

Neighbour said: “We did it the hard way again, but we like to keep things exciting.”

He added: “I’m leaving the club in the best possible state. It’s taken a lot of hours and a lot of hard work, but it has all come to fruition.

“In the last six games we’ve got three wins, a draw and picked up bonus points against Rochdale and North Wales – and that’s the form of a top two team.”

Premier Sports Try of the Week – Dalton Grant (South Wales Scorpions)

Scorpions winger Dalton Grant produced a stunning length-of-the-field effort against North Wales Crusaders, leaving coach Dave Clark tipping him for World Cup selection.

North Wales spread the play from left to right as they attacked the Scorpions’ line, but a knock-on allowed Dalton Grant to gather the ball near his own line.

He showed brilliant footwork to beat three defenders in quick succession, then accelerated clear and finding enough pace to hold off the chasing Rob Massam.

Clark said: “Dalton definitely has all the attributes to kick into the national squad. He’s had a great season for us.”

Premier Sports Championship Team of the Week

1 Lee Waterman (Doncaster)

2 Dave Scott (Doncaster)

3 Steve Tyrer (Halifax)

4 Max Wiper (Barrow Raiders)

5 Greg Scott (Dewsbury Rams)

6 Aaron Brown (Dewsbury Rams)

7 Liam Finn (Featherstone Rovers)

8 Mitchell Stringer (Sheffield Eagles)

9 Nathan Mossop (Barrow Raiders)

10 Anthony Mullally (Batley Bulldogs)

11 James Lockwood (Featherstone Rovers)

12 Matt Sarsfield (Swinton Lions)

13 Carl Sice (Whitehaven)

Premier Sports Championship One Team of the Week

1 Luke Hardcastle (Gateshead Thunder)

2 Harry Moslyn (Hemel Stags)

3 Danny Davies (Rochdale Hornets)

4 Chris Heil (Gateshead Thunder)

5 Dalton Grant (South Wales Scorpions)

6 Andy Moulsdale (North Wales Crusaders)

7 Dylan Skee (London Skolars)

8 Joe Burke (South Wales Scorpions)

9 Dave McConnell (North Wales Crusaders)

10 John Cookson (Rochdale Hornets)

11 Dave Llewellyn (Rochdale Hornets)

12 Alex Thompson (Oxford)

13 Jono Smith (North Wales Crusaders)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.