Championships Team of the Week – May 26

Premier Sports Performance of the Week – Doncaster

Lee Waterman’s last-gasp try earned a Paul Cooke-inspired Doncaster what could be a crucial 24-20 win at Workington Town on Sunday.

Ninth-placed Doncaster are now just one point away from the top eight. Coach Tony Miller said: “It was a tough game for both teams and overall I think we just edged it.

“If it had been a draw, I would have settled for that as I thought both teams gave their all and it was a credit to the Championship.”

On Cooke’s performance, he added: “He was superb yesterday, took the line on and organised the team, and I thought he was the best player on the park.”

Premier Sports Try of the Week – Lee Waterman (Doncaster)

Lee Waterman produced the week’s most dramatic score, clinching three points for Doncaster with a last-minute effort against Workington Town.

Workington had defended bravely for the last 15 minutes of the match, but there was no stopping Waterman when Paul Cooke produced a clever pass that split Town’s line.

Dons coach Tony Miller said: “A couple of years ago we won there in the last minute with a try to Chris Green in exactly the same spot, so that’s been a lucky patch of grass for us.”

Premier Sports Championship Team of the Week

1 Quentin Laulu-Togagae (Sheffield Eagles)
2 Johnny Campbell (Batley Bulldogs)
3 Scott Hale (Dewsbury Rams)
4 Liam Kay (Doncaster)
5 Matt Gardner (Leigh Centurions)
6 Gregg McNally (Leigh Centurions)
7 Dominic Brambani (Sheffield Eagles)
8 Steve Crossley (Featherstone Rovers)
9 Ben Kaye (Featherstone Rovers)
10 Mark Castle (Doncaster)
11 Rhys Clarke (Whitehaven)
12 James Houston (Hunslet Hawks)
13 Lee Paterson (Whitehaven)

Premier Sports Championship One Team of the Week

1 Wayne English (Rochdale Hornets)
2 Gareth Langley (Rochdale Hornets)
3 Mason Caton-Brown (Hemel Stags)
4 Joe Price (London Skolars)
5 Shaun Robinson (Oxford)
6 Danny Yates (Rochdale Hornets)
7 Connor Farrell (South Wales Scorpions)
8 Rob Thomas (London Skolars)
9 Adam Files (Oldham)
10 Phil Joy (Oldham)
11 Mike Ratu (Rochdale Hornets)
12 Sam Latus (Gateshead Thunder)
13 Martin Roden (Oxford)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.