Championships Team of the Week – July 28th

Premier Sports Performance of the Week – Swinton Lions

Swinton Lions produced one of the shocks of the season as they beat high-flying Featherstone Rovers 12-10.

The win lifted the Lions off the foot of the Kingstone Press Championship table, and delighted their coach Gary Chambers.

He said: “That’s probably the best team we’ve been able to field all year, and they stuck to the plan

“This year we haven’t been holding the ball and have been doing twice as much tackling as anyone else, but hopefully the players will now see the value in sticking to the gameplan.

“This gives us a bit of belief that we can play against the bigger teams and get something out of it.”

Premier Sports Try of the Week – Martin Waring (Rochdale Hornets)

Martin Waring’s length of the field try against Oxford added a spectacular touch to a fine Rochdale Hornets display.

Rochdale were under pressure near their own line when Waring collected a loose ball.

The Hornets winger then beat three men with some dazzling footwork before racing 90 metres to touch down under the posts.

Rochdale coach Ian Talbot said: “There were quite a few chasing, but nobody was closing in on him. He even slowed down in the last 30 metres and the greasy surface allowed him a nice slide in at the end.”

Premier Sports Championship Team of the Week

1 Stuart Kain (Hunslet Hawks)

2 Steve Maden (Leigh Centurions)

3 Danny Cowling (Doncaster)

4 Andy Thornley (Leigh Centurions)

5 Kevin Penny (Swinton Lions)

6 Pat Walker (Sheffield Eagles)

7 Ben Johnston (York City Knights)

8 Mitchell Stringer (Sheffield Eagles)

9 Mark Smith (Swinton Lions)

10 Tony Tonks (Halifax)

11 Lee Doran (Whitehaven)

12 Jarrad Stack (Workington Town)

13 Joe Pickets (York City Knights)

Premier Sports Championship One Team of the Week

1. James Anthony (London Skolars)

2. Martin Waring (Rochdale Hornets)

3. Jon Ford (Oldham)

4. Dave Hull (Rochdale Hornets)

5. Omari Caro (Gateshead Thunder)

6. Lewis Palfrey (Oldham)

7. Ben Hardcastle (Gateshead Thunder)

8. Warren Thompson (Rochdale Hornets)

9. Steve Parry (Gloucestershire All Golds)

10. Phil Joy (Oldham)

11. Sam Wellings (London Skolars)

12. James Tutuila (South Wales Scorpions)

13. George Griffin (Gateshead Thunder)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.