Championships Team of the Week – April 28

Premier Sports Performance of the Week – Leigh Centurions

Leigh Centurions went into Sunday’s game with Kingstone Press Championship rivals Batley Bulldogs with several injuries – but produced an outstanding display to record a 20-0 win.

“Often great things happen in the face of adversity, and yesterday was one of those occasions,” coach Paul Rowley said.

“Sometimes you can tell by the look in people’s eyes. There was talk of financial troubles but there are some things that money can’t buy.

“That was a strong theme in our dressing room – respect, friendship and the special bond we have between this group of players.

“Rugby league players are generally special people, and they showed that yesterday, as well as what fine players there are.”

Premier Sports Try of the Week – Kristian Hawkes (South Wales Scorpions)

Kristian Hawkes’ try five seconds from time helped South Wales Scorpions snatch a dramatic 30-28 win over Rochdale Hornets.

Scorpions coach Dave Clark said: “We were on our own line with about a minute to go, but we gathered a loose ball, work our way forward with three or four tackles and then had the tackle count wiped clean when we regained possession after a little chip kick.

“We had two tackles on their line before getting over from close range.

“It wasn’t good for the coaches, but it was great for the fans. We showed we’ve got a bit of character and a never-say-die attitude which maybe we didn’t have last year.”

Premier Sports Championship Team of the Week

1 Ian Hardman (Featherstone Rovers)
2 James Cameron (Whitehaven)
3 Stuart Littler (Leigh Centurions)
4 Scott McAvoy (Whitehaven)
5 Tom Saxton (Featherstone Rovers)
6 Andy Kain (Featherstone Rovers)
7 Kayle Connor (Workington Town)
8 Mitchell Stringer (Sheffield Eagles)
9 Luke Haigh (Hunslet Hawks)
10 Rob Parker (Leigh Centurions)
11 Andy Thornley (Leigh Centurions)
12 Jarrad Stack (Workington Town)
13 Dan Toal (Barrow Raiders)

Premier Sports Championship One Team of the Week

1 Jack Murphy (South Wales Scorpions)
2 Lewys Weaver (North Wales Crusaders)
3 Stuart Reardon (North Wales Crusaders)
4 Sean Morris (Oxford)
5 Shaun Robinson (Oxford)
6 Andy Moulsdale (North Wales Crusaders)
7 Mike Bishay (Hemel Stags)
8 Jason Payne (Gateshead Thunder)
9 Connor Farrer (South Wales Scorpions)
10 Aiden Pritchard (Hemel Stags)
11 Chris Baines (Rochdale Hornets)
12 Danny Langtree (Oldham)
13 Martin Roden (Oxford)


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.