Championships awards list confirmed

The nominations for the 2014 Kingstone Press Championships awards have been confirmed, and Doncaster player/coach Paul Cooke could be in line for an impressive double.

The former Hull FC and Hull KR man is nominated for both Coach of the Year and Player of the Year.

He is joined in the Coach of the Year category by Paul Rowley of Leigh, as well as Glenn Morrison of Dewsbury Rams and Phil Veivers of Workington Town.

The 2014 Kingstone Press Championship Awards shortlists in full are as follows:

Championship Player of the Year: Martyn Ridyard (Leigh Centurions) Anthony Thackeray (Dewsbury Rams) Paul Cooke (Doncaster)

Championship Young Player of the Year: Carl Foster (Whitehaven) Ryan Brierley (Leigh Centurions) Liam McAvoy (Workington Town)

Championship Coach of the Year: Paul Rowley (Leigh Centurions) Glenn Morrison (Dewsbury Rams) Phil Veivers (Workington Town) Paul Cooke (Doncaster)

Championship One Player of the Year: Jason Payne (Gateshead Thunder) Jack Lee (York City Knights) Ben Reynolds (York City Knights) Pat Smith (York City Knights)

Championship One Young Player of the Year: Matty Beharrell (Gateshead Thunder) Connor Farrer (South Wales Scorpions) Ben Reynolds (York City Knights) James Saltonstall (York City Knights) Mo Agoro (Oldham)

Championship One Coach of the Year: Stanley Gene (Gateshead Thunder) Mike Grady (South Wales Scorpions) Gary Thornton (York City Knights) Troy Perkins (Hemel Stags)

The winners will be announced at the 2014 Kingstone Press Championship Awards night in Manchester on Tuesday September 30.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.