Championship and League 1 awards shortlists announced

The nominations for the 2017 Kingstone Press Championship and League 1 awards have been confirmed.

In the Kingstone Press Championship, Hull Kingston Rovers’ Tim Sheens is shortlisted in his first year as head coach of the club, alongside Richard Marshall of Halifax, who won the award in 2015 and London Broncos’ Andrew Henderson, who is nominated for the second consecutive year. All three coaches successfully marched their sides in to The Qualifiers Super 8s.

The three-man shortlist for this year’s Player of the Year award features Hull KR Captain Shaun Lunt, after he successfully lead his side to League Leaders’ victory and the hunt for a return to the Betfred Super League. Lunt’s Hull KR teammate Chris Atkin, who started the season with Swinton Lions and played over 20 games for the club, is also nominated alongside Mark Kheirallah of Toulouse Olympique XIII.

London Broncos’ Alex Walker, Brandon Moore of Halifax and Bradford Bulls’ James Bentley are all nominated for the 2017 Young Player of the Year award.

In Kingstone Press League 1, Paul Crarey, Head Coach of Barrow Raiders is shortlisted for the second consecutive year, alongside James Ford of York City Knights and Whitehaven’s Carl Forster following his first season in charge, after all three teams secured positions in the League 1 Super 8s play-offs.

In their first season since formation, Toronto Wolfpack have two players nominated for the League 1 Player of the Year – hooker Bob Beswick and Captain Craig Hall are shortlisted, alongside Barrow Raiders prop Joe Bullock.

The League 1 Young Player of the Year shortlist features two players from York City Knights. Full-back Ash Robson and half-back Liam Harris are nominated alongside Lewis Young of Newcastle Thunder.

The 2017 Kingstone Press Championship and League 1 Awards shortlists in full are as follows:

Championship Player of the Year: Chris Atkin (Hull Kingston Rovers), Mark Kheirallah (Toulouse Olympique XIII) and Shaun Lunt (Hull Kingston Rovers)

Championship Coach of the Year: Andrew Henderson (London Broncos), Richard Marshall (Halifax RLFC) and Tim Sheens (Hull Kingston Rovers)

Championship Young Player of the Year: Alex Walker (London Broncos), Brandon Moore (Halifax RLFC) and James Bentley (Bradford Bulls),

League 1 Player of the Year: Bob Beswick (Toronto Wolfpack), Craig Hall (Toronto Wolfpack) and Joe Bullock (Barrow Raiders)

League 1 Coach of the Year: Carl Forster (Whitehaven RLFC), James Ford (York City Knights) and Paul Crarey (Barrow Raiders),

League 1 Young Player of the Year: Ash Robson (York City Knights), Lewis Young (Newcastle Thunder) and Liam Harris (York City Knights)

The winners will be announced at the 2017 Kingstone Press Championship and League 1 annual dinner in Manchester on Monday September 18.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.