Championship and League 1 awards nominations announced

Josh McAllister
Championship awards

The full list of nominations for this year’s Championship and League 1 awards have been announced. 

The night will take place at Headingley on Monday September 26, with Our League set to stream the night of celebrations.

Barrow’s Paul Crarey is up for this year’s Championship coach of the year after leading his side into the play-offs in their first season back in the division. The Cumbrian side won promotion from League 1 for the 2022 campaign and have finished the regular season in fourth – securing them a home play-off match against Batley.

He is up for the award alongside Leigh’s Adrian Lam and Halifax’s Simon Grix.

The Centurions finished the regular season on top, claiming the League Leaders’ Shield. They also claimed the 1895 Cup over rivals Featherstone at the Tottenham Hotspur Stadium earlier this season.

Halifax Panthers finished the regular season in third spot, having claimed 20 wins from 27 games.

Elsewhere in the Championship

Two players from Leigh are up for the Championship player of the year award. Both John Asiata and Edwin Ipape could claim the title in their debut years. Barrow speedster Tee Ritson and Halifax key man Joe Keyes have also been nominated.

Forward Sam Eseh, London’s Oli Leyland and York’s AJ Towse are all up for the young player of the year award.

League 1 awards

Having won promotion with an unbeaten record from League 1, Keighley’s Rhys Lovegrove has been nominated for League 1’s coach of the year. He has been nominated alongside Joe Mbu (London Skolars) and Anthony Murray (North Wales Crusaders).

Keighley dominate the League 1 player of the year award with two nominations. Impressive winger Mo Agoro and team-mate Jack Miller will go head-to-head alongside Gavin Rodden (North Wales Crusaders).

Meanwhile, George Roby (Swinton), Leon Ruan (Doncaster) and Cian Tyrer (Rochdale) have all been nominated for the League 1 young player of the year award.

PODCASTSuper League Dream Team special including Field, Welsby, Oledzki & more

FOLLOW: Keep up with all the latest on the Love Rugby League mobile app and podcast