Challenge Cup winners given World Club Series place

The winners of the Challenge Cup will line-up alongside the Super League champions and League Leaders in next season’s World Club Series.

The six-team event will return next February 19-21, once again against three top sides from the NRL.

Earlier this year, Brisbane Broncos, St George-Illawarra and South Sydney Rabbitohs defeated Wigan, Warrington and St Helens respectively in the newly expanded competition, which drew attendances of 51,902.

Super League General Manager Blake Solly said: “The 2015 World Club Series was a huge success and Super League is really looking forward to hosting an even better event next year.

“Not only did we have great crowds, especially the sell-out World Club Challenge at St Helens, we also had over a two million people watch the World Club Series matches and highlights on Sky Sports and the BBC.  I’m sure with the world class entertainment that will be on show in 2016, that figure will only increase.”

If a club was to win two of the three trophies available, then the third World Club Series place would go to the Super League runners-up.


Should a club win all three trophies, then the other available place will be invitational, subject to criteria.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.