Challenge Cup first round draw

The draws for the Preliminary and First Rounds of the 2010 Carnegie Challenge Cup have been made at Leeds Metropolitan University by two of this year’s cup winners, Lee Briers and Michael Monaghan of Warrington Wolves.

The draw was as follows:

Preliminary Round – to be played on 2 and 3 January

Pool A

Leigh Miners Rangers V Millom ARLFC
York Acorn ARLFC V Skirlaugh ARLFC
Orchard Park & Greenwood V Wath Brow Hornets
Waterhead ARLFC V Sharlston Rovers
Egremont Rangers V Oulton Raiders
Widnes St Maries V Myton Warriors ARLFC
Yorkshire Cup Winners V Leigh East
Oldham St Annes V Wigan St Judes ARLFC
West Bowling ARLFC V Normanton Knights ARLFC
Wigan St Patricks V Broughton Red Rose

Pool B
Nottingham Outlaws V Hull University
Warrington Wizards V Birmingham University
Leeds Met University V St Mary’s University

1st Round Draw – to be played on 23 and 24 January.

Pool A

Orchard Park & Greenwood or Wath Brow V Kells     
Stanningley V Oldham St Annes or Wigan St Judes
Bradford Dudley Hill V Castleford Panthers
Castleford Lock Lane V Thornhill Trojans
Shaw Cross Sharks V Leigh Miners Rangers or Millom
Crosfields V Rochdale Mayfield
Ince Rose Bridge V Egremont Rangers or Oulton Raiders
Milford Marlins V Eastmoor Dragons
Heworth V Hunslet Warriors
Saddleworth Rangers V Siddal
York Acorn or Skirlaugh V Thatto Heath Crusaders
East Hull V Stanley Rangers
Eccles & Salford Juniors V Yorkshire Cup Winners or Leigh East
Hull Dockers V Halton Simms Cross
West Bowling or Normanton Knights V Wigan St Patricks or Broughton Red Rose
East Leeds V Ovenden
Waterhead or Sharlston Rovers V West Hull
Widnes St Maries or Myton Warriors V  Lancashire Cup Winners

Pool B

RAF V Warrington Wizards or Birmingham University
British Police V Dewsbury Celtic
West London Sharks V Nottingham Outlaws or Hull University
Featherstone Lions V Army
Leeds Met University or St Mary’s University V Loughborough University       
Gloucestershire University V Edinburgh Eagles
Northumbria University V Navy
Blackwood Bulldogs V Edge Hill University

For the Preliminary Round of the competition 62 sides were split into two pools.

Pool A consisted of 46 teams – 38 National Conference League clubs, the five regional winners, the Lancashire and Yorkshire Cup winners and Broughton Red Rose.  Ten matches were drawn with 26 sides receiving a bye to the First Round.

Pool B contained 16 teams – the British Police, eight University teams, Scottish champions, Welsh champions and five Rugby League conference teams.  Three matches were drawn with 10 clubs receiving a bye to the first round where they were joined by three service teams.

The first round of the draw again saw sides split into two pools – 18 matches were drawn from Pool A and eight matches from Pool B.

No clubs received byes in the First Round.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.