Carvell included as Wales name young squad

Wales have included Castleford’s veteran prop Garreth Carvell in their squad for the 2014 Rugby League European Championships this October and November.

Many other Super League stars are conspicuous by their absence, however, as coach John Kear puts the emphasis on developing youth.

Wigan stars Ben Flower and Gil Dudson are both omitted, as are Huddersfield’s Craig Kopczak and Larne Patrick.

Highly rated young hooker Connor Farrer from South Wales Scorpions is included, alongside a host of other Welsh-born youngsters.

Matty Fozard from St Helens is named, as is Elliot Kear from Bradford Bulls, while veteran Peter Lupton also makes a return to the colours.

South African-born warhorse Christiaan Roets will also turn out once again for his adopted country.

“We’re naming an exciting squad for this tournament with many home grown Welsh players. This in itself indicates true progress for the game in Wales,” said Kear.

“I see the tournament very much as a marker for the development of Welsh players in the international scene. We have a few players missing for various reasons but this gives young players a chance to put their hand up to mix it in future years.

“I want the team to perform to the maximum of their abilities and for unknowns to push themselves to forefront. Youngsters like Connor Farrer, Jordan Sheridan and Matty Fozard spring to mind and this is their chance to make a name for themselves at the highest level.”

Carvell last played for Wales in the 2000 World Cup, and has since gone on to play for Great Britain and England. Kear hopes he will provide some of the grit and experience which the side needs to allow the youngsters to flourish.

“Garreth enjoyed playing for the Welsh team all those years ago and when I spoke to him about it, I was pleased with his response and how keen he was to come back,” the coach added.

“I’m expecting him to be a stalwart in the side. At 33, he is our oldest player, while Connor Farrer, at only just 19, is our youngest.

“It’s good that we have old hands helping through the up and coming lads and it bodes well for this tournament and the future of Wales Rugby League as we continue to build towards Rugby League World Cup 2017.”

WALES SQUAD: Joe Burke, Dalton Grant (both Barrow Raiders), Byron Smith (Batley Bulldogs), Elliot Kear (Bradford Bulls), Garreth Carvell, Daniel Fleming (Castleford Tigers), Rhys Williams (Central Queensland Capras), Matty Barron (Gateshead Thunder), Izaak Duffy (Gloucestershire All Golds), Ollie Olds (Ipswich Jets, Australia), Jacob Emmitt (Leigh Centurions), Rob Massam, Christiaan Roets (both North Wales Crusaders), Yannic Parker (Oxford), Ashley Bateman, Phil Carleton, Paul Emanuelli, Connor Farrer, Kyle Scrivens, Jordan Sheridan (all South Wales Scorpions), Matty Fozard (St Helens), Peter Lupton (Workington Town).

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.