Canterbury 22-2 St George Illawarra: Bulldogs comfortably beat Dragons

Canterbury comfortably beat St George Illawarra 22-2 at Bankwest Stadium.

The Dragons took an early lead as Zac Lomax added a penalty goal in the opening minutes but Canterbury scored the first try of the game in the 20th minute through Adam Elliott, with Nick Meaney converting.

Meaney then added two penalty goals for the Bulldogs to send Dean Pay’s side into the break 10-2 ahead.

Canterbury looked comfortable throughout the match and a fine passing move saw Meaney score out wide, with the winger converting his own try.

The closest Paul McGregor’s Dragons came to scoring was in the 70th minute when Jordan Pereira thought he had scored in the corner, but he was denied by the video referee due to being in touch.

Reimis Smith wrapped up the points for the Bulldogs as he collected a kick to score late on. Meaney’s conversion sealed a 22-2 win for Canterbury.

Canterbury: Watene-Zelezniak; Meaney, Smith, Hopoate, Averillo; Foran, Lewis; Tolman, Marshall-King, Napa, Jackson, Elliott, Faitala-Mariner. Subs: Britt, To’omaga, Sue, Holland.

Tries: Elliott, Meaney, Smith Goals: Meaney 5/5

St George Illawarra: Norman; Pereira, Wiliame, Lomax, Ravalawa; Hunt, Clune; Kerr, McInnes, Vaughan, Frizell, Sims, Graham. Subs: Merrin, Lawrie, Luke, Aitken.

Tries: Goals: Lomax 1/1

Watch NRL and live stream every NRL game to keep up with how Tom Burgess, John Bateman, Ryan Sutton, Elliott Whitehead, James Graham, George Williams and all the others are getting on Down Under.

Watch our Last Tackle podcast, featuring a guest, every week. SUBSCRIBE to Love Rugby League on YouTube.

Listen to The Final Hooter podcast, featuring exclusive interviews, every week. SUBSCRIBE to Love Rugby League on Apple Podcasts.

More on site

My Set of Six: with Saints legend Paul Sculthorpe featuring Ellery Hanley & Challenge Cup finals

Andrew Johns: The Newcastle Knights favourite who became a rugby league icon

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.