Canberra’s English players won’t return home before 2021 NRL season

Canberra’s English contingent will stay in Australia across November and December.

English quartet Josh Hodgson, George Williams, Elliott Whitehead and Ryan Sutton won’t return to the UK during their annual leave breaks before a shorter pre-season gets underway for the NRL season next year.

Great Britain and England international John Bateman will return to the UK at the end of the current NRL season to take up a four-year deal with Wigan in Super League from 2021.

Sutton told “It’s hard because it will be a year at the end of the year (since I haven’t seen my family).

“I’m always on the phone to them and they’re pushing me to do what’s best. I’ve got my missus over here so I’ll spend Christmas with her family so it’s not too bad.

“If the restrictions clear they (family) might be coming over here to enjoy an Australian summer.”

Listen to The Final Hooter podcast, featuring exclusive interviews, every week. SUBSCRIBE to Love Rugby League on Apple Podcasts.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.