Brough to lead Scotland in European Championship

Scotland coach Steve McCormack has revealed the identity of the players who will defend the Bravehearts’ European Championship title this year.

Huddersfield Giants stand-off Danny Brough is once again the skipper, and he is joined from Super League by Adam Walker and Sonny Esslemont of Hull KR, Liam Hood of Salford, Ben Kavanagh of Widnes and Richard Harris of Warrington.

“It tells you everything about the man,” said McCormack of Brough.

“It would have been easy for him to say ‘I need a rest’, but from the start of preparations for this year’s comp he said he wanted to play.

“That has a huge effect on the rest of the group and, as anyone who has seen Danny play will know, has a massive impact on how we play.

“Having one of the world’s best half-backs leading us is superb, and brings out the best in the players around him.”

There is also a significant contingent from the Championship, led by Leigh’s Jonny Walker, and Danny Addy and Dale Ferguson of Bradford.

Corbyn Kilday is called up from the Central Queensland Capras, while Ipswich Jets prop Billy McConnanchie also receives a call-up.

Workington’s Brett Phillips and Alex Szostak require surgery and miss out, as does Huddersfield centre Joe Wardle.

Kane Linnet, Peter Wallace and Luke Douglas from the NRL are being rested.

McCormack is pleased to have McConnanchie to call upon,

“I spent some time last year with Ipswich Jets when I was over there and got contacts,” he said.

“I’m friends with Steve Johnson, the Jets Chairman, who managed the USA when we played them at the World Cup. He contacted us a few months ago about Billy.

“We’ve been checking on his progress and he’s been outstanding so we are bringing him over.”

Scotland training squad:

Danny Addy (Bradford Bulls), Josh Barlow (Swinton Lions), Sam Barlow (Leigh Centurions), Craig Borthwick (Edinbugh Eagles), Danny Brough (Huddersfield Giants), Harvey Burnett (unattached), Brett Carter (Workington Town), Lewis Clarke (Edinburgh Eagles), Sonny Esslemont (Hull KR), Dale Ferguson (Bradford Bulls), Richard Harris (Warrington Wolves), Ben Hellewell (London Broncos), Liam Hood (Salford Red Devils), Finlay Hutchison (Edinburgh Eagles), Ben Kavanagh (Widnes Vikings), Corbyn Kilday (Central Queensland Capras), Billy McConnachie (Ipswich Jets), Jon Molloy (Wakefield Trinity), Finn Murphy (Edinburgh Eagles), Callum Phillips (Workington Town), Scott Plumridge (Edinburgh Eagles), Craig Robertson (Edinburgh Eagles), David Scott (Doncaster), Mitch Stringer (Sheffield Eagles), Shane Toal (Barrow Raiders), Oscar Thomas (London Broncos), Adam Walker (Hull KR), Alex Walker (London Broncos), Johnny Walker (Leigh Centurions).

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.