Broncos, Cowboys and Titans allowed to remain in Queensland ahead of NRL return

Queensland premier Annastacia Palaszczuk has allowed rugby league to play and train in the state.

The decision means Queensland’s three NRL teams – Brisbane, North Queensland and Gold Coast will not be forced to relocate to New South Wales for the resumption of the NRL competition.

ARL Commission chairman Peter V’landys said: “This is a critical decision for rugby league and a win for the players, clubs, fans and the wider community.

“I can’t express enough our appreciation to the Queensland government.

“I have great respect for the Premier and it is a tribute to her strong leadership that she has kept an open mind through this process.

“The Queensland government has done a great job containing the virus and we won’t let them down.”

NRL players will undergo an educational training session on Monday to understand the biosecurity protocols and restrictions.

Watch NRL and live stream every NRL game to keep up with how Tom Burgess, John Bateman, Ryan Sutton, Elliott Whitehead, James Graham, George Williams and all the others are getting on Down Under.

Watch our Last Tackle podcast, featuring a guest, every week. SUBSCRIBE to Love Rugby League on YouTube.

Listen to The Final Hooter podcast, featuring exclusive interviews, every week. SUBSCRIBE to Love Rugby League on Apple Podcasts.

More on site

Robert Elstone acknowledges RFL’s “tireless work” of securing government loan

All Onside with Mick Cassidy and Stephen Wild: Legs workout

World Cup chief welcomes government support for rugby league

Rugby League Today: Cox on tributes, national coach working on frontline & government rescues RL

Government pledges £16million to save rugby league

About Drew Darbyshire 8176 Articles
Love Rugby League Deputy Editor. Joined the site ahead of the 2017 World Cup and been a full-time reporter since 2018.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.